Copy Files Action Copy tab
This tab of the Copy Files action specifies what should be copied, moved or deleted.
Source folder: The source directory to copy files from (optional). This can be empty if the Ignore non-existent or blank source folder and Synchronize options are checked to delete files and folders from the destination folder.
Note: You can also specify a path and filename or path and file mask in this field (instead of using the Include field).
Dest folder: The destination folder to copy files to (required) and/or synchronize files from.
Files to copy: Used to specify files or folders to include or exclude when copying (optional).
Copy subdirectories: Determines if subdirectories will be searched recursively for copying and purging.
Copy empty subdirectories: If checked, empty subdirectories in the source will be created in the destination.
Copy all files to root destination folder (flat copy): If unchecked (the default), the source folder directory structure will be created in the destination path when copying files. If this option is checked, all files from all source directories will be copied to the root destination folder (no subdirectories will be created). Be careful with this option -- if duplicate filenames exist in different folders in the source, the last-copied duplicate filename will replace all prior copies. It is also recommended that this option not be used with the synchronize and move options.
Note: Does not apply with Robocopy.
Copy only files that have changed (incremental copy): Enables incremental copying of files. Before copying a file, if this option is checked, the action compares the size and timestamp of the source and destination files and only copies the files if the file does not exist in the destination folder or the size or timestamps are different. Any files that are already up-to-date in the destination will not be copied.
Skip files from source that are older than destination: If checked, when a newer file already exists in the destination path, the source file will not be copied (the file sizes are not compared). If unchecked, every matching file that is different in size or timestamp (newer or older) will be copied to the destination.
Delete destination files and folders that no longer exist (synchronize): If checked, any files in the destination folder that do not exist in the source folder will be deleted from the destination folder. Use in conjunction with incremental copy to synchronize the contents of two folders. The Include/Exclude fields are also used to include or exclude files from the synchronize operation.
Note: Be very careful when using this option, as many files can be quickly deleted when this option is specified. It is advisable to use the Do not copy option when testing a synchronize or delete operation to show which files would be removed. The Delete Files action can also be used to delete files.
Move files: If checked, after successfully copying each file, the file is deleted from the source folder.
Move/delete source folders: If checked, source folders are also deleted if the folder is empty after all matching files are moved.
Note: To delete files, check the Ignore non-existent or blank source folder checkbox on the Options tab, clear the Source Folder field, enter the folder to delete files from in the Dest Folder field, and check the Delete destination files... option. Include and exclude options can also be entered to specify which files to delete.