Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2009, 11:50 AM
tmacy tmacy is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-31-1969
Posts: 1
Making Visual Studio builds

I'm trying to automate making Visual Studio builds. I have two issues:

1) I have selected the Rebuild build behavior. So, Rebuild runs and works fine, and then Build runs, so most projects build twice. How can I prevent the second Build from running?

2) We have components that are registered for COM Interop. The second build on these components fails because they assembly cannot be unregistered. This appears to be a function of the version number changing at the end of the first rebuild. Do I have to turn off the "Register for COM Interop" setting on the projects?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2009, 12:31 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,027
1) The Make VS.NET action will only Rebuild, then Build when incrementing versions.

2) It is Visual Studio (msbuild/vcbuild/devenv) that actually performs the building of a VS solution or project (and is reporting the error), not VBP itself. If building via MSBuild does not work, you might try using devenv (enter devenv in the Override field on the Options tab), as this will be closer to what the IDE does when building. Another option might be to not increment the assembly version or use VS version update logic (set the assembly version to 1.0.*).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.