Kinook Software Forum

Kinook Software Forum (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [VBP] Third Party Tools (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Making Visual Studio builds (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=4024)

tmacy 05-01-2009 11:50 AM

Making Visual Studio builds
 
I'm trying to automate making Visual Studio builds. I have two issues:

1) I have selected the Rebuild build behavior. So, Rebuild runs and works fine, and then Build runs, so most projects build twice. How can I prevent the second Build from running?

2) We have components that are registered for COM Interop. The second build on these components fails because they assembly cannot be unregistered. This appears to be a function of the version number changing at the end of the first rebuild. Do I have to turn off the "Register for COM Interop" setting on the projects?

kinook 05-01-2009 12:31 PM

1) The Make VS.NET action will only Rebuild, then Build when incrementing versions.

2) It is Visual Studio (msbuild/vcbuild/devenv) that actually performs the building of a VS solution or project (and is reporting the error), not VBP itself. If building via MSBuild does not work, you might try using devenv (enter devenv in the Override field on the Options tab), as this will be closer to what the IDE does when building. Another option might be to not increment the assembly version or use VS version update logic (set the assembly version to 1.0.*).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.