Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2007, 11:53 AM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Is there a way to send non-escaped FAILSTEP_OUTPUT email?

Quite some time ago (back in the VBP 6.1 or 6.2 days), I learned that when including the %FAILSTEP_OUTPUT% macro in the Message of a "build failed" type of email, the text therein needed to be escaped. The reason at the time was because text within brackets was being interpreted as script (and when you have SQL code in the %FAILSTEP_OUTPUT%, there's a lot of brackets!). To escape this, I simply turned on the application option for "Escape special VBP characters in step output macros".

Today, some of my developers are complaining that the email sent by VBP for broken SQL builds is confusing because of the double brackets and quotes. Is there any way to un-escape this text and yet not run into the problems I had previously?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2007, 02:30 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,458
If you use %FAILSTEP_OUTPUT% in a step field (and the Escape option must be checked in this case), doubled (escaped) square bracket and percent chars in the output will be unescaped (converted to single chars) when used by the step action.

If this is not happening, please send the details. Thanks.
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...?threadid=3044
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2007, 02:57 PM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Will it unescape even when %FAILSTEP_OUTPUT% is used as part of the Message text of an email?

If so, I'll have to put together an example as it's not unescaping for me under 6.3.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2007, 04:13 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,458
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2007, 01:53 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,458
You were right -- the FAILSTEP_OUTPUT macro value was getting escaped twice. The latest download at http://www.kinook.com/Download/VisBuildProEval.exe has been patched with a fix for this issue (VisBuildBld.dll v6.6.0.1).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2007, 02:41 PM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Smile

I just wanted to thank you guys for fixing this so quickly and building such a great product. Iíve been using Visual Build Professional for almost 2 years now and I have to say this is one of the very best purchases our company has ever made!

Keep up the great work and thanks for making such a reliable and useful product.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Copyright © 1999-2017 Kinook Software, Inc.