Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2013, 12:44 AM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
Prevent deletion of file links on sync

Is it possible to prevent UR from deleting file links when a sync is done ?
For example, if I link to a folder c:\test, then that will create a link to the folder and a link to each file in that folder and sub-folders.
Now, if I rename a file externally and sync in UR then a new link is created for the renamed file and the link to the old filename is deleted. The problem here is that Item Notes are lost.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2013, 06:42 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
No, but the deleted item will be in the UR Recycle Bin.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2013, 10:04 AM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
ok, I didn't notice. That is somewhat helpful.
Just while testing this out I noticed that duplicates are not handled correctly. So if there is a link to readme.txt, then the file is changed to readme1.txt and back again, syncing each time in UR, then the final link is not marked as a duplicate of the item in the Recycle Bin.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2013, 05:29 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
It's by design that UR doesn't logically linking to items in the Recycle Bin.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:14 AM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
I don't think that's true. Create an item, link it elsewhere in the tree and now delete it. It goes into the Recycle Bin and is still linked to the other item. The two links can be seen in the Item Parents Pane as well. I hope this behaviour doesn't change in the future as the recycle bin can now be used as a sorting bin by deleting multiple items and then moving them to other locations.

Last edited by seanferns; 02-14-2013 at 05:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2013, 06:39 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
Right, but if an item is in the Recycle Bin (and not logically linked elsewhere), syncing/importing will not logically link to an item with the same URL in the RB (since v3.5).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.