Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2007, 10:17 AM
John Gardner John Gardner is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-10-2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4
Unhappy Error creating custom action 'Make VS.NET': Class not registered

Hello, I am having a problem with 6.4 that I didn't have with 5.7

Background: VS6, VS 2003, VS 2005 Installed. .net framework 1.1 (& SDK) 2.0 (&SDK) 3.0 (redistributable only). All patched to the hilt. All old beta versions removed from registry and deleted from harddisk.

I downloaded testvs.bld. I get the same error:

Error creating custom action 'Make VS.NET': Class not registered

I ran regmon and filtered "visbuildpro". I launched visbuildpro (6.4) and started build. Regmon captured everything and then I saved it and zipped it (attached).

I have repaired .net framework 2.0 & SDK , reintalled VS 2003 and reinstalled .netframework 1.1

I need help because I am stuck. I have read other posts to this forum and tried what they have tried and so far, nothing has worked.
Attached Files
File Type: zip regmontestvs.zip (87.5 KB, 777 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2007, 10:29 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
Please ZIP and send or post:
1) The info from Help | About | Install Info
2) The .bld file
3) A build log file
4) The .sln file and project files (no source code files)

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2007, 10:53 AM
John Gardner John Gardner is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-10-2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4
Here tis

Visual Build Professional 6.4
Registered to: MICRO SYSTEMS ENGINEERING - LAKE OSWEGO, OR (1-site license)
Windows Version: 5.1.2600.2.0
Install path: C:\Program Files\VisBuildPro6
cmax20u.dll version 2.1.0.21
SftTree_IX86_U_50.dll version 5.06
unins000.exe version 51.15.0.0
unins001.exe version 51.46.0.0
VisBuildBld.dll version 5.7.0.0
VisBuildCmd.exe version 6.4.0.2
VisBuildCore.dll version 5.7.0.1
VisBuildDotNET.dll version 5.7.0.2
VisBuildExt.dll version 5.7.0.2

Log:

8/13/2007 8:43:46 AM: --------------------Starting Build: 'C:\testvs.bld'--------------------
8/13/2007 8:43:46 AM: Building project step 'Make VS.NET'...
Error creating custom action 'Make VS.NET': Class not registered
8/13/2007 8:44:04 AM: Step 'Make VS.NET' failed
8/13/2007 8:44:07 AM: Build ended.


:/ Ooh I think I see the problem. But I have installed 6.4 twice why did it not update / register 6.4 dlls in place of 5.7? This looks like an installer bug to me.

Yes I still have 5.7 installed (to handle older builds). They are installed in separate folders. I am a bit afraid to uninstall it because I'm not sure I could get the 5.7 release if I needed to.

Attached is the build file. I did not include solutions or projects simply because this build file fails. If the build file succeeded and my solution failed then I would send you that stuff too.

I'll wait for your reply before I attempt to uninstall 5.7 test and subsequently install 6.4 (third time) test and if that doesn't work uninstall 6.4 and then reinstall. Hurry with a reply. I tend to be very impatient
Attached Files
File Type: bld testvs.bld (308 Bytes, 877 views)

Last edited by John Gardner; 08-13-2007 at 11:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:09 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
It looks like there are some v5 components in the v6 install path. That could definitely cause problems. v6 and v5 can be installed side-by-side (in different locations). I recommend uninstalling v5 and v6, deleting all VBP installation paths if still existing, and reinstalling v5, then v6, in different locations (the defaults are PF\VisBuildPro and PF\VisBuildPro6).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:12 AM
John Gardner John Gardner is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-10-2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Thanks!

You guys are fast! Keep up the good work.

I noticed the 5 stuff. I don't know if I have the 5.7 download anymore so I may not be able to reinstall it. Can you give me a link to it?

But IMO, this looks like an installer issue to me.

Anyway, will do! I suspect this will solve all problems.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:21 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
http://www.kinook.com/Download/VisBuildPro57.exe

In our testing, the v5/v6 installers work as expected, defaulting to distinct paths (but they don't prevent the user from installing both to the same path).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2007, 12:15 PM
John Gardner John Gardner is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-10-2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4
Looks like this addressed _ still think installer issue though

I think the installer should handle the situation where the user installs over an old build (same folder)

It either should:
1. Handle it.
2. Offer to uninstall previous version
3. Warn the user.

But you should not end up with a non-functional install.

BTW, when re-installing I got the defualt paths but when I initially installed 6.4 it came up with the old install path for 5.7

But I am up and running now. So thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.