Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2011, 11:42 PM
aaronlawrence aaronlawrence is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-11-2011
Posts: 6
"Fail but continue" option

Would like an option for a step that has failed, to continue trying to build other things but fail the overall build.

We have a complex product to build. Some of it is dependent on common elements but there are many independent parts.

Thus we want to try building as much as possible, not stop at the first failure - but even one failed step does mean the build failed.

Likewise, at the end of it, I would like to see a coherent report of "these items failed" ... which is kind of hard to get at the moment.

As discussed by another user:
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...l+AND+continue
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2011, 03:22 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,656
We'll consider providing a built-in way to track the overall status of a build (whether any steps failed even if the build continued).

For now, you could use a project-level step done script event to store a flag in a temporary macro for whether any steps failed (but marked to continue building) during the build, and then at the end of the build, fail the build (conditionally build an Exit step if that flag is set).
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...riptevents.htm

You can report on all failed steps in a build by using XML log file format, then creating a report with the Transform XML Log action, filtering on failed steps.
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Manual/loggingopt.htm
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...gfiltertab.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2011, 02:26 AM
aaronlawrence aaronlawrence is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-11-2011
Posts: 6
OK, thanks. I have done this now.
Also used the event to log failed items to a separate file, which seems less drastic than changing the entire logging format to XML just to get this info. Seems a bit clunky but does work.

Is there any reason why I need to use a ScriptDone event, rather than just a failure step?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2011, 07:04 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,656
No, a failure step is certainly another good (maybe better) way to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2012, 02:30 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,656
This is implemented in v8.0.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2012, 02:49 PM
aaronlawrence aaronlawrence is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-11-2011
Posts: 6
Wow, actually following up on the original thread! Very nice!

Regards
Aaron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.