Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-26-2008, 06:18 AM

VMware Workstation ->"Run Program" Command doesn't work

Hi,

I am a newbie using Visual Build and it works fine. Though I have been trying to do some things with VMware Workstation, I can't find the way.
Till now i can "Start" a Virtual machine with an specified snapshot. But when I use "run program" command I get this error:

"Error: Unrecognized command: runProgramInGuestProcess completed with exit code -12/26/2008 10:04:11 AM: Step 'VMware Workstation-Connect&Exit' failed"

The step as you can see is named "VMware Workstation-Connect&Exit".

I really don't know what I am doing bad.
The program I want to run is in the virtual machine and in the host machine also, both in the same path.
The help that comes with Visual Build it's not enough at least for me to know how to work with this.

Could somebody help me please

Thanks a lot.

<SEB@s>
Old 02-26-2008, 08:11 AM

I haven't worked with the Vis Build portion of the VMWare steps, but if you're using the vmrun command from the command line, you need to ensure that the program you want to run is fully pathed out...

ex: notepad.exe will give you an error, but "C:\Winnt\notepad.exe" shouldn't (assuming Win2k).

Maybe the same thing is important here...

My $0.02.

e.
Old 02-26-2008, 08:27 AM
Administrator

The runProgramInGuest command requires VMware Workstation v6.
Old 02-26-2008, 10:03 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
The runProgramInGuest command requires VMware Workstation v6.
Now I've installed VMware Workstation V6 and I still get the same error:

"Error: Command failed: Guest tools is not runningProcess completed with exit code -1 2/26/2008 1:55:36 PM: Step 'VMware Workstation-Connect&Exit' "

I don't know which is the probelm. Has anybody used VMware Workstation? Does anybody know if it works?