Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2006, 04:49 AM
nigelj nigelj is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-05-2006
Posts: 4
Make VS.NET fails. Class not registered

Hi,
Creating a test project using an eval version of VBP6.0a i'm seeing the following error when I try use the Make VS.NET build step.
It happens with both VC7.1 and VC8.0 test projects. I have both VS2003 and VS2005 on the same machine.

I did reinstall VBP but that had no effect.
Any ideas as to whats wrong?
Thanks and regards,

Evaluation Version: 34 uses remaining
05/04/2006 10:31:12: --------------------Starting Build: 'Test.bld'--------------------
05/04/2006 10:31:13: Building project step 'Project steps'...
05/04/2006 10:31:13: Building project step 'Make VS.NET'...
Step default property 'Filename' = '.\VBPVC71Test\VBPVC71Test.sln'
Error creating custom action 'Make VS.NET': Class not registered
05/04/2006 10:31:15: Step 'Make VS.NET' failed
05/04/2006 10:31:15: Build ended.


Test project attached...
Attached Files
File Type: zip test.zip (116.4 KB, 350 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2006, 09:25 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
That indicates that the action is not properly registered (which normally happens during installation). Can you try uninstalling, re-downloading http://www.kinook.com/Download/VisBuildProEval.exe, and re-installing? If that doesn't help, run RegEdit, navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{8124D16D-4D7B-4a97-A2FE-14F10EFA2635}, and if it exists, export that registry key to a file and ZIP and post or send it to support@kinook.com. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2006, 10:25 AM
nigelj nigelj is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-05-2006
Posts: 4
Uninstalled, pulled the latest from the web-site and reinstalled as you asked.
The problem still existis so attached file has the reg key you mentioned.

Here's the current install info settings:
Visual Build Professional 6.1
Evaluation Version: 14 days remaining
Windows Version: 5.1.2600.2.0
Install path: C:\Program Files\VisBuildPro6
SftTree_IX86_U_50.dll version 5.04
unins000.exe version 51.42.0.0
VisBuildCmd.exe version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildPro.exe version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildBld.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildCore.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildDotNET.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildExt.dll version 6.1.0.1
VisBuildLog.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildMisc.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildMS.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildMS2.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildNet.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildSvr.dll version 6.1.0.0
VisBuildSvr.Interop.dll version 1.0.0.0

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip reg.zip (1.3 KB, 335 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2006, 11:19 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
Strange. To debug further:
1) Download RegMon from http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/Regmon.html
2) Run it, enter visbuildcmd in the Include field and click OK
3) Download the attached .bld file to your computer
4) Open a Command Prompt to the path you downloaded the .bld file to and type
start visbuildcmd testvs.bld<enter>
5) Save the log in RegMon and ZIP and post or send to support@kinook.com

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: bld testvs.bld (308 Bytes, 344 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2006, 02:45 AM
nigelj nigelj is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-05-2006
Posts: 4
RegMon logs attached.
Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip regmon.zip (88.6 KB, 344 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:28 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
Comparing your logs to mine, I can see a difference that would explain the problem, but I'm not sure why Windows/.NET is behaving differently on your system. One thing that might be a factor: It appears that there is (at least vestiges of) a pre-release version of the 2.0 .NET Framework on your system (build 50215) in addition to the RTM 50727 build. Can that version be uninstalled or can you try this on a machine that never had any pre-release versions of .NET installed?

I doubt it will make a difference, but you might try uninstalling v1.0 of the .NET Framework (I tested on a machine w/ 1.0, 1.1, and 2.0 RTM installed and it worked ok). You might also make sure you have the latest SP of all the installed .NET Framework versions.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2006, 10:35 AM
nigelj nigelj is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-05-2006
Posts: 4
Cool

I uninstalled 50215 (seemed to have been left over from having VS2005Beta2) but still had the error.
I then downloaded the the current 2.0 framework from MS and did a repair on 50727 which resolved the problem.
Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.