Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2004, 01:46 PM
SpartanHokie SpartanHokie is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-28-2004
Posts: 19
Question Zipping files from multiple folders

Good day,

I am trying to zip a set of files that are located in about 12 different folders. I tried to set the source folder for the zip action to the root most folder and then supplied relative paths from that folder to each file. It gets one of the files, but the rest all fail. I have verified all the paths, but it still seems to fail. Anybody else had luck doing this? I would really like to not have to create 12 different steps just to include these files into one zip...

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2004, 07:39 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
That should work. I tried a sample here using masks or specific filenames, and it worked as expected. For instance, with a directory structure of

a
|- b
|-- c
|-- d
|-- e

Specying a Source folder of c:\a and include values of

b/c/filename.ext
b/c/filename2.ext
b/e/filename.ext
b/e/filename2.ext

or

b/c/*.ext
b/e/*


added all matching files to the ZIP file. Make sure you have 'Include subfolders' checked. If that's not it, ZIP up a sample (.bld file and a folder structure w/ files) that reproduces the problem, along with the info from Help | About | Install Info and post here or send to support@kinook.com.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:06 AM
SpartanHokie SpartanHokie is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-28-2004
Posts: 19
Unhappy

I believe I found the problem. When it attempts to add the contents, it is using dos directory names - so if the folder exceeds 8 characters, it truncates it. Is that "as designed"? Is that a limitation on WinZip or VBP? Just curious...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:15 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
I changed my sample to use folder names > 8 chars (the filenames were already > 8 chars) and it still worked as expected (no truncation and all matching files processed). This was on an NTFS file system. Where are things getting truncted for you? The folder names in the ZIP file? Are you using a FAT formatted drive or something? Which version of VBP are you running? Which version/SP of Windows?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:24 AM
SpartanHokie SpartanHokie is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-28-2004
Posts: 19
I am running on Win2003 Server with NTFS. The VBP version is 5.5

Here is a snipit from the VBP log when I just do a *.* of the entire directory rather than specifying a file:

E:\Builds\Applications\Test\Build -> Test.zip
TestFold/AIMdooro.wav
TestFold/AIMdoors.wav
TestFold/AIMimrcv.wav
TestFold/AIMimsen.wav

The folder is TestFolder and the as you can see the .wav files from AIM are truncated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:25 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
You don't by chance have 'Store filenames in 8.3 format' on the Options tab checked?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:37 AM
SpartanHokie SpartanHokie is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-28-2004
Posts: 19
Talking

YIKES! How that got checked and I didnt notice it, is a mystery to me - that fixed the problem.. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:00 AM
SpartanHokie SpartanHokie is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-28-2004
Posts: 19
So here is another question. I now have it going into the subfolders and getting the files, but it is adding the folders (in your example b/c and b/e) into the zip as well. Is there a way to get it to just put the file in the zip and not the folder structure? I tried checking the "Don't include path information for files in subfolders" and it doesn't add any files.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:19 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
Those two options are incompatible with each other in the 3rd party ZIP component we use (DynaZIP) because

"Each specification [of Include masks] can include the directory path as it would appear in the zip file after the zip operation concludes"

You'll need to use filename masks alone (no paths) in the Include field, or first copy the files you need into a flat structure and ZIP that instead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.