Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2020, 07:28 AM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 403
Splitting an item: Why is UR using entire paragraph as a title

Appreciate the new 6.1 release.

When splitting an info item containing three paragraphs, it using entire paragraph as new info item titles and item text is blank.

This is, to me, is counter-productive. I have to go to each item and copy/past titles to text area and trim the titles afterwards.

Why can't UR just use the first line as a title and insert entire paragraph in editor.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2020, 07:31 AM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 403
Here's an example ...
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2020, 02:00 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 403
What is the intended use-case for this feature i.e. splitting an item? For mine, it helps me break down big articles by inserting delimiters at several places and let UR do the rest.

Is this beyond scope of this feature?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2020, 06:18 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
Testing was primarily with breaking up by paragraphs, but that should be supported as well. We will investigate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2020, 06:45 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 403
Actually, thinking about it, paragraph or not, it should not matter. I'm thinking that UR splits by whatever delimiter string user has specified regardless of what appears between them.

On a different issue, but may be related, I have noticed this feature (split/join/append) does not apply to mouse actions e.g. dragging text to an info item. If I paste text, it gets appended, but dragging it does not append. It creates a new child.

Is there a way, for example, to press a modifier key i.e. shift to have it append while dragging.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.