Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:45 AM
Rogier Rogier is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-09-2004
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 40
Downloading http url with username & password?

I need to download a HTTP url, and the server requires a username and password. However it does not offer https access, only http, so the 'Security' tab of the HTTP action is set to 'None'. (I'm mentioning this because I'm not sure if the username & password authentication are also used when using *no* security protocol?)

I've isolated a test case, see attachment. I'm trying to download this test url:
http://rand0mized.co.cc/test/cat.jpg
(username = user, password = example)

The .bld says "Error getting file: The specified resource cannot be found (Not Found)" although it works fine in my browser.

I'm probably not using the HTTP action correctly, what am I doing wrong?
Attached Files
File Type: bld example.bld (650 Bytes, 312 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:01 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,647
That works ok here using VBP 7.2 and the attached project.

9/28/2009 7:57:50 AM: --------------------Starting Build: 'http.bld'--------------------
9/28/2009 7:57:50 AM: Building project step 1 - Project steps...
9/28/2009 7:57:50 AM: Building project step 2 - HTTP...
Connecting to HTTP server 'rand0mized.co.cc' on port 80
C:\Temp\cat.jpg <- /test/cat.jpg
9/28/2009 7:57:51 AM: Build successfully completed.
Attached Files
File Type: bld http.bld (634 Bytes, 535 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:46 AM
Rogier Rogier is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-09-2004
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 40
Hmm strange, I just updated to 7.2 and tried again, but still no go

Actually, I tried downloading a link that doesn't require a username/password (see example2.bld in attachment), i.e. just a plain normal http download, and even that gives me the same problem!

Dunno if it helps, but I've set the logging of the HTTP action to 'All' and tried again, see the results attached. Any idea?

(PS. It's not just this test site or server, I've tested with several different URLs as well)
(PPS. Just to be sure, I also disabled my firewall and tried again: no difference unfortunately)
Attached Files
File Type: zip example.zip (1.2 KB, 498 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:56 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,647
Did you try my .bld file? One difference I noticed is that the URL field in yours includes the protocol+domain (i.e., http://rand0mized.co.cc/cat.jpg). It should include only the filename on the server (i.e., /cat.jpg).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2009, 10:26 AM
Rogier Rogier is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-09-2004
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 40
Oh, sorry.. *feeling stupid* Yes I did try your .bld now, and apparently the protocol+domain vs filename difference did the trick

Thanks a lot for your great service!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2011, 12:53 PM
Japster24 Japster24 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-13-2010
Posts: 19
Just wanted to say thanks for the sample kinook. As always, you guys just rock!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.