Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2010, 06:43 AM
Smith-Corona Smith-Corona is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-12-2010
Posts: 27
Search stops working

hi,

Lately I've found from time to time that Search just stops working. No matter what I put into the search box, nothing comes up. I'm putting in search terms I know are present, I'm making sure I'm using Simple search, I press Reset - still nothing comes up when I press Search.

The only way to make it work is to close the database and re-open. Then the self-same search works.

Has anyone else encountered this?

smith-corona
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2010, 07:46 AM
Jon Polish Jon Polish is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-21-2006
Posts: 372
Yes, something similar. The permanent fix was to repair the database with reset all system information to default values checked. You may have to re-adjust any changes you made to your templates, but no information will be lost.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2010, 08:11 AM
Smith-Corona Smith-Corona is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-12-2010
Posts: 27
damn... I was hoping to avoid that. I'll probably put up with this behaviour as long it's just occasional, rather than lose all my customisations.

To be honest I would prefer Kinook put its energies into stamping out basic, long-standing annoyances like this, than develop Python scripting or whatever else is on the road map.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2010, 08:56 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,758
We've never seen or heard of that before, so any more details you can provide on reproducing it would be helpful. And repairing a database does not reset all customizations (toolbars, menus, panes, etc.) -- it only resets the text and attributes of predefined items (My Data, Templates, etc.) and restores any optional items (Notes, Tasks, etc.), which can be deleted again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2010, 09:16 AM
Smith-Corona Smith-Corona is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-12-2010
Posts: 27
thanks Kinook, my mistake, should have done some checking. Problem is it is (fortunately) pretty occasional, so there's not much useful to say except "it sometimes happens". My impression is it's been since the latest upgrade, but I wouldn't swear to it, and in any event post hoc is not propter hoc. I'll keep an eye on it and if I have anything meaningful to report I'll post it here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2010, 06:02 AM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Hi John & Smith,
Definitely the search freeze occurs very often, more often than I expect. It can be cured by Option | Compact & Repair... It often, though not always, occurs after the computer has been in hibernation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.