Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:12 PM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
step script written in script editor doesn't work, why?

When I paste vbscript in the step tab of the script editor on certain steps, like a 'Group' or 'Delete Folder' action step, it doesn't go through and implement the script. When I paste it on the step tab for a 'Surround SCM' action step, specifically to do a checkout, it works. Why is that?

I want to add a line of vbscript (which I've already done) which updates a macro to know what group steps just started being build. That way, if a failure occurs, I can build the right undo checkout and also send that piece of information along with the e-mail notification of failure. I would prefer to update the macro as soon as the build process enters a group folder, and I though I could take advantage of the script editor to avoid adding another action step. Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2007, 02:45 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,758
Script events work for any kind of step. Attached is a sample with script events for Group and Delete Folder steps.
Attached Files
File Type: bld stepevent.bld (1.1 KB, 846 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2007, 06:02 PM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
Thank you. That works great. I hope to implement something like this in my project.

Another issue that I have is when I call a function or subroutine in the step tab that is declared in the global or project tab (or its body is written in the global or project tab), it doesn't give me an error but it doesn't seem to work right. That is possible, right? I want to declare the functions in the global tab, to have them in the .Global.scripts file to save in Surround, and just call them in the step tab for any step when needed. I was trying to use the Step objects like the "vbldStepStatSucceeded," etc., but I suppose that only works in the step tab. Am I right? I'll continue to work with that issue. I'll appreciate any help you can give me. Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2007, 06:36 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,758
I didn't quite follow your question. Please ZIP and send or post:
1) The info from Help | About | Install Info
2) The .bld file
3) A build log file
4) The .Global.scripts and .steps files
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.