Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2014, 05:41 PM
jmmcd jmmcd is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 02-10-2012
Posts: 4
Make VS 2013 problems

We just upgraded one project to use VS 2013 (it was using VS 2003). I get the following problems when using the 'Make VS 2013' action:
1) Can't specify config to build (must build all configs). When specified I get:
Solution configuration 'Release|Win32' not found.
or:
Solution configuration 'Release' not found.
2) No log is produced whether the build fails or succeeds. Did the default behavior change re logging?
3) Must specify the path to devenv.exe, such as:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\Common7\IDE\devenv.exe
If empty, it seems to use the wrong IDE, as I get:

Pre-processing...
DocumentScan\DocumentScan.vcxproj...setting version...

Rebuilding configuration 'Debug|Win32'...
Microsoft (R) Build Engine version 4.0.30319.18408
[Microsoft .NET Framework, version 4.0.30319.18444]
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Build started 10/7/2014 3:26:51 PM.
0>c:\srctree\release_X_test\allbase\dcap\microserv er-dcap2\Microserver_2013.sln(28): Solution file error MSB5008: Error parsing the solution configuration section in solution file. The entry "" is invalid.

Build FAILED.

c:\srctree\release_X_test\allbase\dcap\microserver-dcap2\Microserver_2013.sln(28): Solution file error MSB5008: Error parsing the solution configuration section in solution file. The entry "" is invalid.

0 Warning(s)
1 Error(s)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2014, 07:00 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,723
Please send or post the .sln file and the info from http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=3044

Also see http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=4500
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2014, 10:45 AM
jmmcd jmmcd is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 02-10-2012
Posts: 4
Yep, thanks!

The troubleshooting item 4500 explained what was going on. I didn't realize VS no longer forced the .sln upgrade, and that was the problem. The developer first upgraded to VS 2010 and then upgraded again to VS 2013.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.