Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:13 PM
RogueElement RogueElement is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 02-12-2009
Posts: 3
Question ADO and Access 2007

(1) I am able to use ADO feature to communicate with an Access 2003 database but receive an error (invalid format) when using a 2007 version of the same database - is Access 2007 supported and if not why and when might it be?

(2) When I return some results (using the 2003 db) into the ADO_RS macro, all I get is <object> rather than data - what might I be doing incorrectly?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:43 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
Re: ADO and Access 2007

Quote:
Originally posted by RogueElement
(1) I am able to use ADO feature to communicate with an Access 2003 database but receive an error (invalid format) when using a 2007 version of the same database - is Access 2007 supported and if not why and when might it be?
I was able to use the ADO action with an Access 2007 database and Access 2007. Using the Server.bld sample (Database -> ADO section), I upgraded the sample.mdb to Access 2007 format, and the steps worked afterwards. I would guess that something is misconfigured with Access and/or ADO if it's not working. Make sure Access 2007 is installed and that the ADO Access driver is using Access 2007.

Quote:
(2) When I return some results (using the 2003 db) into the ADO_RS macro, all I get is <object> rather than data - what might I be doing incorrectly?
The ADO_RS temporary macro is the ADO recordset object. See the Server.bld sample for iterating over the recordset after it has been populated.
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Manual/ado.htm
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...rversample.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2009, 05:18 PM
RogueElement RogueElement is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 02-12-2009
Posts: 3
Thank you for the quick reply - I found the information related to question (2) - that works.

In regards to question (1) - I did the same thing - upgrade the sample.mdb to sample.accdb - received the following:

"Opening connection to 'C:\DOCUME~1\jbelloch\LOCALS~1\Temp\VisBuildPro\sa mple.accdb' with Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0 provider...
Unrecognized database format 'C:\DOCUME~1\jbelloch\LOCALS~1\Temp\VisBuildPro\sa mple.accdb'."

How would I confirm that my ADO/Access driver is the correct one (if that is the cause of by issue) since Access 2007 is installed? My Access installation was installed normally, is there something I need to configure?

Thanks again,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:01 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
On second glance, it looks like Access 2007 created an .mdb and .accdb file when converting, and I was still using the .mdb file (pre-2007 format). For .accdb files, you need to use

Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0

in the Provider field.

http://www.google.com/search?q=acces...edb%20provider
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2009, 11:56 AM
RogueElement RogueElement is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 02-12-2009
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

Thank you - that works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.