Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2004, 02:42 PM
Shuang Shuang is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-04-2003
Posts: 6
Run Oracle

Can "Run SQL" be used to run against an Oracle database? If not, what would be the best way within a VBP?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2004, 07:51 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,723
The Run SQL action is specific to SQL Server (wrapping its osql.exe command-line tool). If Oracle provides a similar command-line client, you could use the Run Program action to call it. Otherwise, you could use ADO via script (see the ADO.bld sample).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2007, 12:23 PM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
Where do I find the ADO.bld file sample? I did a search through the whole VisBuildPro6 directory for it and I got no matches.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2007, 12:28 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,723
The ADO samples are now in Server.bld.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/ado.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/serversample.htm

Also, there now is a Run Oracle Script action for Oracle.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/oracle.htm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2007, 03:40 PM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
I do recall viewing an 'ADO' action step dealing with Oracle, but I don't see it anywhere in the Server.bld sample you are referring to. I do remember seeing something about running Oracle in a 'Run Program' action step. I'm thinking it was probably a .bld file that was attached to a post somewhere in the forum which I downloaded. I can't remember exactly where it is though, assuming I'm correct. I have VBP 6.2 installed. I don't have the 'Oracle' action step available but it's using SQLPlus to generate a command line. I now use the following in the 'Run Program' action step:

sqlplus -S username/password@oracleserver @C:\filepath\filename.sql

The output seems to be less, making it easier to read. Another thing, when choosing to read the output from a file, it doesn't work. I use C:\filepath\filename.txt to try and log the output in that file. I have the file created beforehand. Sometimes it doesn't run, saying it can't open the file; other times it runs but nothing is logged in the file. What am I doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2007, 09:25 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,723
Update to v6.6, try again, and send the info requested here if still a problem:
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...?threadid=3044
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.