Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2003, 04:37 AM
Kim Kim is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-03-2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 26
Question Target not found after building

When building our projects, all our exe- and dll-files are put in a common bin-folder. How do I tell "Visual Build Professional" to look for the target files in the bin-folder?

Thanks!

Kim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2003, 07:44 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
Question

What sort of projects are you building? VC6? VS.NET? VB6? If you can send the project/solution/workspace/group files to support@kinook.com we can take a look. Also, if you're building VC6 utility or makefile projects, you can't use advanced features that require parsing the project or resource files (such as incrementing and setting versions and properties), since those project types don't have a consistent file format for determining the necessary info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2003, 02:23 AM
Kim Kim is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-03-2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 26
Post Details about the problem

I'm using Microsoft Visual C++ v6.0 and Service Pack 5 for all my projects. When compiling, all dll's and pdb's are placed in a common folder.

E.G.
Project - Settings - Link: Output file name
\MySoftware\Bin\MyDll.dll
- and -
Project - Settings - Link: Project Options
/pdb:"\MySoftware\Bin\MyDll.pdb"
/out:"\MySoftware\Bin\MyDll.dll"

Using this method, all exe-, dll-, and pdb-files are placed in a common bin- and bind-folder when compiling. My guess is that "Visual Build Professional" search for the target files (exe's and dll's) in the \Project\Release and \Project\Debug folders.

The question is: How do I tell "Visual Build Professional" to look for the target files in the common bin-folder? It should be possible to read this information from the dsp-file?

Last edited by Kim; 04-07-2003 at 02:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2003, 07:51 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,720
The Make VC6 action does parse that info from the DSP files. Again, please send the projects+workspace files to support@kinook.com and we can take a look.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.