Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2008, 09:16 AM
DavidNL DavidNL is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-12-2008
Posts: 6
Question VB6 - Specify exe name when building

Hi,

I'm new to VisualBuild and i made some test projects in the Trial version to see if it suits our needs. I'm very positive so far, i think it will be of great help.

Anyway, I was wondering if its possible to specify the Exe Name when compiling a VB6 project.

The reason i ask this is because in the VB6 project i'm compiling, the name of the exe has to contain the version numbers.

So, when compiling version 5.0.1 I need the Exe to be named "MyApp 5.0.1.exe"
When compiling version 5.0.2 I need the Exe to be named "MyApp 5.0.2.exe"
etc.

I couldn't find a setting for this. Searched in the help file and forum..

I'm using Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 btw.


Thanks in advance for any tips,
David.


Edit: Oops, I think i posted in the wrong forum, sorry :-)

Last edited by DavidNL; 09-12-2008 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2008, 11:40 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,013
A couple of options:

1) After compiling, retrieve the version of the EXE and rename it to match

2) Retrieve the version from the VBP file and update the VBP file to compile to a filename that includes the version

See the attached sample.
Attached Files
File Type: zip exename.zip (1.7 KB, 998 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2008, 07:10 AM
DavidNL DavidNL is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-12-2008
Posts: 6
Hi kinook,

Thanks for your reply and the examples, they helped me to get started.
I almost got my project finished now..

However, it didn't go as easy as i thought because i ran into a few problems;

1. The %VS6_PROJ_VER% variable returns the current version number, not the "next" version number.
I assume this is because I don't have "Auto increment" enabled in the VB6 project properties.
The reason i haven't enabled this is because in "Develop builds" i have to increment the Minor part of the version (MyApp 5.1.0.exe, MyApp 5.2.0.exe, etc) whereas in "Release builds" i have to increment the Revision part of the version (MyApp 5.2.1.exe, MyApp 5.2.2.exe, etc).

I guess to be able to do this, i'll have to manually edit the VBP file and change the corresponding properties (MajorVer=x, MinorVer=y, RevisionVer=z).

Would have been a lot easier if i could "configure" which of the 3 i want to increment when building in VisualBuild.

But then again, that would have been too perfect i guess... :-)

2.
When i build a new .exe and specify a new filename, i have to manually rename the file in SourceSafe (when compiling manually in Vb6 this happens automatically.)
Also, the SourceSafe Rename command is not available in VisualBuild (no idea why because it does have a lot of the other more uncommon commands..), but i will do this by calling the ss.exe manually.


Thanks again,
regards David.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.