Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2008, 05:07 PM
patsissons patsissons is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1
Exclamation Subversion update command issues

I created a subversion update step today and found that it didn't actually do what I expected it to do. Maybe I am missing something, so I figured I would post my situation.

I created the subversion update step and filled in all the details (basically, I copied a subversion checkout step that I had created previously and changed 'checkout' to 'update'). The problem now is that the generated command that gets executed tries to update the subversion server URI rather than the working directory URI that I would have expected.

I am guessing that this does work if you use the 'file' protocol and then fill in the details properly. I would much rather the update command use the working directory field instead for consistency's sake (or at least allow that to be set as an option). This is mostly because the file protocol will not allow me to pass in a windows explorer URI (which i already use for the working directory in my checkout step).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2008, 11:17 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,750
The fields on the Repository tab and the 'Working directory for local files' field on the Subcommand tab have different purposes. The former specifies the location of the Subversion repository, while the latter specifies the local path to retrieve files to.

http://svnbook.red-bean.com/en/1.4/s...verconfig.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2014, 02:53 AM
Boris Boris is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 03-20-2014
Posts: 1
I created a subversion checkout step and the program worked correctly. Then I changed checkout to update and received the following message: 'http://wiki.a0d/svn/TortoiseSVN/trunk' is not a local path. Tell me, please, how can solve this problem
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2014, 07:38 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,750
The svn update command requires a local path (or no path at all), not a URL.
http://svnbook.red-bean.com/en/1.7/s....c.update.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2014, 05:19 PM
GrahamS GrahamS is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-26-2003
Posts: 16
I got a similar error message to "'http://wiki.a0d/svn/TortoiseSVN/trunk' is not a local path". If you have a SVN set up with 'trunk', 'tags' and 'branches' subdirectories and check out from the trunk directory (rather than the repository root) then the VBP svn update command will give the above error. The command line "svn update /path/to/working/directory" will update the working copy as desired. It would appear to me that the VBP svn update command is not translating to the simple command line that you would expect.

If you check out from the repository root then the VBP svn update command works as expected.

I've resorted to using the "run program" action with a %DOSCMD% to run the "svn update /path/to/working/directory" directly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.