Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2017, 09:23 AM
David_F David_F is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-05-2017
Posts: 55
Form Details command - what does it do?

hi,

I'm not quite sure what the command "Form Details" (View > Other Windows > Form Details) is meant to do. Well, I assume it should put the cursor into the first field of that item's form, if it has one. But when I select the command (either directly via the menu or through a keyboard shortcut), nothing happens - or seems to happen.

-- David_F
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2017, 10:05 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
When an item doesn't have a form, the Item Details pane contains only the text editor, web browser, etc.

When an item has a form, the Item Details pane contains the form, and the detail view (text editor, web browser, etc.) is displayed below the form. The View | Other Windows | Form Details command moves focus to the detail area below the form. This allows you to press a shortcut (default is Ctrl+Shift+2) to go to that area instead of tabbing through every form field.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2017, 11:08 AM
David_F David_F is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-05-2017
Posts: 55
Thanks! It seems it's the opposite to what I thought - it's to take you directly to the Item Details pane (what I think of as the Editor). I thought it must be something to do with being in the item text (Item Details pane) and switching focus to the form...

This is really useful, as I was getting a little irritated with how when I moved from eg the Tree to the Editor with tab or ctrl-2 I had to tab first through all the form fields, if there was a form there. So this answers that need very well. It also explains I guess why the shortcut is Ctrl-Shift-2 - it's a variant on Ctrl-2...

Exploring along the same lines, I've found the toggle forms off/on switch also extremely useful, esp if you give it a shortcut.

I would suggest the wording of this command though is unclear. It makes it sound as though you're going to the form details, whereas actually you're skipping them.


-- David_F
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.