Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2008, 09:32 AM
ShiamakD ShiamakD is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-28-2008
Location: us
Posts: 32
Jumping to a Step/macro

Hi All,

I was wondering if there is a way to jump to a particular step in your script and execute it.?

What I need to do is basically perform certain action based on out of one action, so I have created "common' steps in my scripts. I would like to use VB for this task.

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2008, 10:01 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,013
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/su...callaction.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2008, 10:21 AM
ShiamakD ShiamakD is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-28-2008
Location: us
Posts: 32
Dear Sir/madam,

I am really new to Visual Build and as I said before what I am looking for is a mechanism where i could use if statement like

[Psuedocode]
if (step.Build = vbfailed ) then
Step.Run(buildFiled)
endif;

The link that you sent me is certainly not self explantory, and help about that feature didnt help much in explaning.

I appreciate your response.

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2008, 10:29 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,013
See the attached sample. If the 'test' step fails to build, the 'Handle test failure' failure subroutine will be built, and the build will continue with the next project step.

http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/stepfailure.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/failurestepstab.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/steppanes.htm
Attached Files
File Type: bld stepfailure.bld (1,021 Bytes, 1056 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2008, 12:24 PM
ShiamakD ShiamakD is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-28-2008
Location: us
Posts: 32
In the script you attached I dont see "Handle test failed" defined anywhere, where is it coming from and what does it (Handle test failed) contain in terms of steps.?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2008, 12:33 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,013
Click on the Failure Steps tab or choose View | Failure Steps on the menu.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/steppanes.htm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2008, 01:37 PM
ShiamakD ShiamakD is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-28-2008
Location: us
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
Click on the Failure Steps tab or choose View | Failure Steps on the menu.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/steppanes.htm
Thank you so much for your prompt response. I understand Visual Build is indeed a great tool but lack of easy to understand "help files" makes it very difficult for any user to use the tool and hence get frustrated.

With this being said , i would like to commend support staff for their prompt and accurate support.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2008, 12:22 PM
ShiamakD ShiamakD is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-28-2008
Location: us
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
Click on the Failure Steps tab or choose View | Failure Steps on the menu.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/steppanes.htm
Hello,

I am sorry but the solution that you provided does not completely solves my problem.


Currently I have created Failure Steps that gets executed if a associated step in Project steps fails, but what I wanna do is perform Failure steps and then take to control to a "Specifc" step in Project step.

For instance , lets say I have error message defined in Failre Steps for each step in my Main Project Steps. Now if that specific step in Main project steps fails the control goes to specific failure step and gets executed , I dont want script to stop here rather continue, if I contiue then other steps that were dependent on FAILED step would fail as well, I dont want to report this, what i want is, if a step fails, I create a error message (as defined in Failure Step macro) then transfer control to last step in Project step, perform the action (email in this case with crated text based on step failed) and exit the script.

I hope I am clear on what I want to achive using Visual Build.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2008, 01:50 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,013
Put all dependent steps in a subroutine, and mark the subroutine steps to Exit subroutine on failure.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/su...callaction.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/stepfailure.htm

Or, in the Failure steps, create a temporary macro (i.e., STEPS_FAILED) to indicate that steps have failed, and on all dependent top-level steps, use a conditional build rule to build only if %STEPS_FAILED% is undefined.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/setmacroaction.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/buildrules.htm
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2008, 02:23 PM
ShiamakD ShiamakD is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-28-2008
Location: us
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
Put all dependent steps in a subroutine, and mark the subroutine steps to Exit subroutine on failure.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/su...callaction.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/stepfailure.htm

Or, in the Failure steps, create a temporary macro (i.e., STEPS_FAILED) to indicate that steps have failed, and on all dependent top-level steps, use a conditional build rule to build only if %STEPS_FAILED% is undefined.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/setmacroaction.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/buildrules.htm
Hi,

So I assume there is no way in VisualBuild one could jump to a particular step within project steps?

Could you please confirm this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-01-2008, 02:31 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,013
That's correct.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.