Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2021, 05:09 PM
karelt karelt is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-23-2016
Posts: 56
Freezing upon database switch

Hi,
I am observing a bug and I am in the process of gathering info so I can submit a report to Kinook. I wonder if anybody else perhaps suffers from the same issue so that we could pool our experiences before any of us submit the bug:

I have two databases open at all times and I switch between them. No matter how I do the switch, very often one or the other database freezes and UR must be killed and restarted.

Hope I am not the only one living thru this :-) Thanks in advance for any additional info!

Best
K
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2021, 01:05 PM
cnewtonne cnewtonne is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Posts: 466
Most common 'freezing' I have seen in UR is when switch to an info item that is a web page. I do know why, some webpages will take up to 45 secs to display.

Verify if you are switching between databases where the active info item is a web page that is too slow.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2021, 01:09 PM
karelt karelt is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-23-2016
Posts: 56
Thanks for your reply, cnewtonne!
This is not the case, though. I have no web pages in my databases. Just text.


K
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2021, 04:17 PM
Spliff Spliff is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-07-2021
Posts: 81
You don't give specifics about the databases. I suppose you will have done the "Tools - Compact and Repair" for both of them, and the problem persists: in both directions, or just in of of them (a>b AND b>a)?

I suggest you create new databases for both, then import everything into those, then see if the problem persists.

By "import", I mean copy ^c in the original databases, switch to the respective new one, then do ^v; I did this for bulks of 5-digit numbers of items at a time, so if you do this for sub-trees containing several thousand items each, there should not occur a problem in the process.

The only REAL problem arising from doing this is possible de-sync afterwards, since while you observe and check, several days, you will have to decide which ones of the databases you will use, the old, or the new ones, and if you then decide to continue to use the other one...

I suggest that after that "export", you just use the new databases (you'll rename the old ones accordingly), after again a "Compact and Repair" which will recreate the text index.

(I have no experience with UR databases though which contain web pages.)

Btw, the perfect SQLite tool for UR is Navicat for SQLite; if you don't use it professionally, you can buy it for private use for $99 plus VAT. (On the other hand, it's a very bad moment to buy since you'd buy v. 15, while v. 16 is way overdue, but you could use, for some days, the fully-functional trial.)

The reason why I say "perfect": It's the only one of those tools which integrates data compare (to be found in the manual by searching for "data syncing"), and that's the functionality you'll be interested in after switching thousands of items between databases, and all the more so if after some days, you'll want to switch your "new" items from one database to the other.


EDIT: I forgot: First thing is to note how many items, then check after the switch; I never encountered item differences so this is to be considered reliable.

And I'd like to explain why I think the a copy into a new file might help; I make assumptions here; correct me if I'm wrong.

SQLite is a quite weird format, the whole database within one file (!), so in that file, there obviously is some "package around" the records, and that may have become slightly faulty, so a "new package" - the data "around" the records data - could help.

I do NOT think that faulty records (especially the "content" fields) may play a role here, because I don't think there is some "check" for all those records and their respective integrity when opening an SQLite database, let alone when just switching to it (i.e. when it's already opened), and faulty records could crash the database indeed, when "touched", i.e. upon the try to access them; before that, they, and their possible database crashing effect, should remain "dormant", so even some really faulty web page "content" record - which obviously would be copied into the new, data-replicating database - should very probably not cause the effect you see.

I may be mistaken though.

Last edited by Spliff; 07-09-2021 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2021, 08:22 AM
karelt karelt is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-23-2016
Posts: 56
@Spliff

Thanks for your reply, Spliff !!

Very cool ideas!

I don't have much time researching the issue right now, but it is on my 2do list.
I changed PC, Win10 version and upgraded UR so these all could be to blame. Frankly, downgrading to previous UR version is the first thing I am going to try. I did the reset etc. described in the UR help. It did not help.

I created two new databases w/o transferring any data into them and the freezing bug still occurred.

I will definitely keep the information you posted about SQLite in my UR notes so that when I need it, I have it handy. I did some minor SQLite editing in the past and could not find a good editor. Perhaps the one that you have suggested could be the way to go for me. I don't need to do this often though.

Best regards
K
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2021, 02:34 PM
Spliff Spliff is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-07-2021
Posts: 81
Hello karelt,
you're welcome!

I'm intrigued by your, "I created two new databases w/o transferring any data into them and the freezing bug still occurred." - sorry for not also having said you probably should "re-install" UR; by "re-install", I mean just download the current v. 6.2 again again, then "install", i.e. OVER your existing install (when neither UR nor any UR database is open; well, the former would include the latter...).

Neither your settings nor your license will be affected by this, and hopefully, you'll get rid of the phenomenon.

If not, Kyle should be interested in this problem, and since your two NEW databases do NOT contain any data (and, as such, no personal data either), perhaps sending those two databases in to kinook could help in identifying the problem? But, clearly, UR 6.2 "re-install" should come first.

I would not go back to previous versions; you would not profit from (hopeful) amendments...

As for Navicat, (real) "professionals" swear about it, and I've got why they do, in the meantime - I hadn't been so much "convinced" after discovering they had discarded (!) the print functionality, but then, there is a quite good export functionality instead, and the print output of some of their "competitors" are, whilst they exist indeed, really bad. (Also, they also have a good graphical database construction (or then, "re-engineering") tool included, so it's really, almost "complete", minus the native print-out that is - but then, I prefer script the output anyway, for it to be to my liking, which is never the case with the in-built export and/or print tools of most applications...)

That being said, there are both some free SQLite interfaces (I'd prefer SQLite Expert Lite for this... whilst the same, "paid", is certainly not worth your money), and some free SQLite data comparison tools (I did not try them though), so, yes, you could wait for v. 16 to finally be released or even then decide you're fine with the free SQLite tools. Just refrain from buying $100-or-any such tools which do NOT offer the package; thus, I would never endorse SQLite Maestro, Sqlite Viewer, SQLabs SQLite Manager, SyBrowser, RazorSQL, and so on; also, a "visual query builder" - which you don't really need after all -, is NOT equivalent, and far from it, to a real graphic construction tool.

Btw, this night, I got the automated W10 19043.1083 update, and that does NOT seem to be a stable one, to put it friendly... so if your problems are very recent, MS may be behind it again...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Copyright 1999-2022 Kinook Software, Inc.