Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2005, 06:06 AM
lena lena is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-19-2005
Posts: 18
command line option /item

I want to open UR at a specific info item. In the Help file I read that I should use: UltraRecall.exe /item but when I try, for example

UltraRecall.exe /item reviews

UR does come to the front but the specified info item (reviews, in my example) is not selected. It does not matter if I enclose the item name in quotes or not. What am I doing wrong?

Ultimately, I would like to do:

UltraRecall.exe /item reviews /import "http://www.example.com"

So that the url is imported at the specified info item. Is dat at all possible?

[edit] I searched a bit more, and found that I have to specify the ItemID on the command line (makes much more sense indeed). At first, I could not find the ItemID referenced anywhere, but after a little more tinkering (I really actually did play with this for a while before I asked the question, really), I found that there is a "system attributes to display" option. I now see the ItemID, and I can open the item from the command line. Very cool.

My last question remains, though. I would really like to automatically import something at the right place. Is this possible at the moment?

Last edited by lena; 02-01-2005 at 07:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:44 AM
lena lena is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-19-2005
Posts: 18
I found a sort-of solution. In the Import options I can say "Insert imported items at bold item in Data Explorer". This does exactly what I want (I continue to be amazed that you have added options for things I never expected), but I only want that when I import from the command line. When I am surfing the web I want the stuff I Win-V to be in the Imported Items, so that I can categorize it later.

I think I should be able to work around this, I just make a wrapper script that sets and then resets the registry option to import at the bold item.

It would still be great if the command line option supported this itself, I think people want to import from the command line in a very different way then when they are actively importing things.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2005, 01:39 PM
kevina kevina is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 03-26-2003
Posts: 825
Your workaround (ensuring the import option to use the bold Info Item) works with Version 1.1 as you describe.

Ultra Recall 1.2 now honors the /Item flag as you desire...

Note: it is highly recommended that you make a backup of your Info Databases before upgrading to a new version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2005, 11:14 AM
lena lena is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-19-2005
Posts: 18
Wow, this is fast customer service
It works great, thanks very much.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.