Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 04:20 PM

Question UR using Too Many Resources

Hello, I just got UR because the sample looked fun and I have some background in databases. I am enjoying being able to list all my website favorites and have dynamic links to things like google calendar, etc.

The problem is, UR uses a tremendous amount of resources, and its resource stack doesn't seem to be stable all the time. I'm on a quad machine with 8 gigs of ram. In Process Explorer (free download from Microsoft) I've tried setting the program's Affinity to run on only one processor. Still--it uses more resources than Skype, and Skype, bless its heart, is something my son the head programmer doesn't allow on the worksite because of resource problems.

Should I try importing just links rather than web content?

Any suggestions?
Gershon B
Old 11-28-2012, 04:40 PM
Administrator

What resources are you seeing UR use a lot of? Right now on my box (Intel Core i7 w/ 8GB RAM), examining with Process Explorer, UR is using about 200MB virtual size, 30MB working set, 350 handles, 15 threads, 180 USER objects, 220 GDI objects, and negligible CPU, which is in the same ballpark as other GUI apps that are running (Word, Access, Process Explorer, Windows Live Mail, Firefox, Chrome). UR embeds Internet Explorer to display web pages that are imported or browsed to, and depending on the complexity of pages displayed by IE, IE itself might use more resources. Please send the info requested at http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=3038. Thanks.
Old 11-28-2012, 04:51 PM

Hi Gershon,
Welcome aboard.
A simple answer: No.
It won't consume excessive resources unncessarily.
For maximizing Ultra Recall performance, try: