Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2008, 09:39 AM
tan125 tan125 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-30-2007
Location: PA
Posts: 15
Send a message via Yahoo to tan125
Unspecified error while zipping files

Every once in a while, we'll encounter an "Unspecified error" while running a Zip step in VBP 6.2.

The log file shows this:

3/18/2008 6:11:35 PM: Building project step 'Zip bin to 26'...
\\CORP-ALT-26\d$\Tracer2\Build_v2_260\bin -> \\CORP-ALT-26\d$\Tracer2\Build_v2_260\1750\bin_1750.zip
Configuration/actionconfig.xsl
Configuration/actionfields.xsl
Configuration/CEconfig.xml
Configuration/config.xml
Configuration/createcollection.xsl
Configuration/dbconfig.xml
Configuration/logconfig.xml
Configuration/lookup.xml
Configuration/nlstranslate.xsl
Configuration/pds.wsdl
Configuration/pds.wsdl_corp18
Configuration/ResetHTML.xsl
Configuration/RptLicense.xml
Configuration/TransformMCE.xml
Configuration/TransformMCE.xsl
DLL/ActionController.dll
DLL/AttachmentsAction.dll
DLL/AttachmentsBO.dll
DLL/AuthAction.dll
DLL/AuthEngine.dll
DLL/Authenticate.dll
DLL/CalendarBO.dll
DLL/CalendarsAction.dll
DLL/ChangeRequestAction.dll
DLL/ChangeRequestBO.dll
DLL/CodeAction.dll
DLL/CodeBO.dll
DLL/ConfigAction.dll
DLL/ConfigBO.dll
Unspecified error
3/18/2008 6:11:36 PM: Step 'Zip bin to 26' failed


Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2008, 10:14 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
Not really, but since the problem is sporadic and both the source files and destination ZIP file are on a network share, I would guess that a network hiccup, or possibly a source or destination file getting locked by some other user or service, is a likely cause.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2008, 08:52 AM
tan125 tan125 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-30-2007
Location: PA
Posts: 15
Send a message via Yahoo to tan125
In case of a lock on a file or network connectivity issues, I put a loop around the step to keep trying if it failed. On the first attempt, it gave "Busy, can't enter now."


3/19/2008 6:12:09 PM: Building project step 'Zip Tracer to 26'...
\\CORP-ALT-26\d$\Tracer2\Build_v2_260\Tracer2 -> \\CORP-ALT-26\d$\Tracer2\Build_v2_260\1751\Tracer2_1751.zip
Busy, can't enter now
3/19/2008 6:12:09 PM: Step 'Zip Tracer to 26' failed
3/19/2008 6:12:09 PM: Building project step 'Do until zipping doesn't fail'...
Step 'Do until zipping doesn't fail' repeating build rule evaluates true: %LASTSTEP_STATUS% (expanded value = 1) is not equal to 0
3/19/2008 6:12:09 PM: Building project step 'Wait 10 seconds'...
Waiting 00:00:10...
Elapsed time has passed, continuing build
3/19/2008 6:12:19 PM: Building project step 'Zip Tracer'...
\\CORP-ALT-26\d$\Tracer2\Build_v2_260\Tracer2 -> \\CORP-ALT-26\d$\Tracer2\Build_v2_260\1751\Tracer2_1751.zip
Busy, can't enter now
3/19/2008 6:12:19 PM: Step 'Zip Tracer' failed
3/19/2008 6:12:19 PM: Building project step 'Do until zipping doesn't fail'...
Step 'Do until zipping doesn't fail' repeating build rule evaluates true: %LASTSTEP_STATUS% (expanded value = 1) is not equal to 0
3/19/2008 6:12:19 PM: Building project step 'Wait 10 seconds'...
Waiting 00:00:10...
Elapsed time has passed, continuing build
3/19/2008 6:12:30 PM: Building project step 'Zip Tracer'...
\\CORP-ALT-26\d$\Tracer2\Build_v2_260\Tracer2 -> \\CORP-ALT-26\d$\Tracer2\Build_v2_260\1751\Tracer2_1751.zip
Busy, can't enter now
3/19/2008 6:12:30 PM: Step 'Zip Tracer' failed
3/19/2008 6:12:30 PM: Building project step 'Do until zipping doesn't fail'...
Step 'Do until zipping doesn't fail' repeating build rule evaluates true: %LASTSTEP_STATUS% (expanded value = 1) is not equal to 0
3/19/2008 6:12:30 PM: Building project step 'Wait 10 seconds'...
Waiting 00:00:10...
Elapsed time has passed, continuing build



This went on for about an hour and a half before I logged onto the machine to take a look. Then, I stopped the build, and ran each ZIP step one at a time. The ZIP steps did not have any errors this time, and the rest of the build went as expected. I've never seen the "Busy, can't enter now" message, and was wondering what it is referring to -- VBP being busy, the folder being busy, the DynaZip DLL being busy, or something else.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2008, 09:13 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
We haven't seen that one before either. The error message is actually returned by the ZIP component, and the docs indicate this means that a zip action was initiated within the same thread of execution before the last operation completed, which doesn't make a lot of sense, since the build steps are run sequentially.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.