Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2006, 08:15 AM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
"Process Files" needs option to process folders

It seems as though "Process Files" will always ignore folders in the specified directory unless you use the "Recursively search subfolders" option. Perhaps Iím doing something wrong, but I havenít found a way of getting this action to recognize folder even at the specified directory level without the recursive flag. And then you end up getting all of the files in those directories as well.

In the system I am trying to build, I have a parent folder which contains a number of direct sub-folders. I would like to simply iterate over just these sub-folders (with a few exclusions), ignore all files, and then do some processing on the current sub-folder (as described by %PROCFILES_FULLPATH%).

How might I do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2006, 11:59 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,750
The 'once per folder' option does not currently work with non-recursive processing. This will be supported in the next release.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2006, 09:26 AM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
I'm not seeing this new behavior in the 6.2 Beta. Is it there? If so, how would I test this behavior?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:20 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,750
It works in our tests. Attached is a sample.
Attached Files
File Type: bld proc_folders.bld (723 Bytes, 838 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:34 AM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Yes -- following your example this does seem to be working. The only "surprise" was that I had to check "Process empty folders" to get this to work. I'm not sure why I had to check that (my folders are not empty), but it will not work without that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:27 AM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Could someone explain why I need to have "Process empty folders" selected? Why is this necessary in order for things to work?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:02 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,750
That's just the way it works. Adding that option doesn't have any harmful effects, and it's fairly unusual to use the dir-only non-recursive combination, so we didn't think it mattered much.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:17 PM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Fair enough -- just be sure to document this behavior
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:37 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,750
This is now handled properly in the latest beta build.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:10 AM
Dave_Novak Dave_Novak is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-13-2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 64
Correct -- according to my tests with the latest Beta, you no longer need to check the "Process empty folders" option to get things to work as expected.

Thanks for fixing this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Copyright © 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.