Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2013, 10:28 AM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
Read only

Is there a way to make a specific item Read Only, this way its not accidently edited unless I enable Read Write for that item. Is there an attribute that I can change to make this happen?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2013, 05:59 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
No, there isn't a way to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2013, 07:46 AM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
Ok thanks, is this something that can be put on a wish list. Sometimes I store scripts in UR and I want to view them but I don't want them accidently edited. There are other items I would like to use in this manner as well, so a blanketed blocking of editing a file time doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2013, 11:05 AM
Jon Polish Jon Polish is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-21-2006
Posts: 372
You could link to read only files. I know it is not exactly the way you would like to do this, but it will keep your scripts safe.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2013, 11:56 AM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
Thanks, but this file isn't linked its stored in UR, and would like the ability to keep it read only until I need to edit it. If there was an attribute that would set the item to read only and then if I needed to edit it flip it to read write, make the change and flip it back to Read only again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2013, 12:49 PM
Jon Polish Jon Polish is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-21-2006
Posts: 372
I understand what you are asking for and agree it would be nice to have. However if you are concerned about safeguarding your work, you can export the item to a file, mark it as read only, then link it to UR. It is only a workaround, but it beats losing some code you spent time developing.

It seems that the pace of development is nonexistent, so unless this is an easy addition to UR (I don't see why not), I would not expect to see it soon, if ever.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2013, 08:55 AM
ktibor ktibor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 04-05-2013
Posts: 31
Workaround for readonly item

There is a workaround for you: a .htm type document template.

1. Create a simple local htm file (e.g. x.htm) with minimal html content.
2. Import this file in your database under Templates item.
Be sure to import as stored document
(e.g. drag and drop file to Templates item while pressing Ctrl key)
3. Modify the URL attribute value of the imported item. New value: .htm
4. Edit the Item Title of the new template item (e.g. Html_doc).
You can delete the local file.
----------------
5. Create a new info item based on the new template Html_doc
6. Select menu item: Item | Edit web page (Ctrl+Shift+0) (=enable editing)
7. Edit content in Item Details pane
8. Select menu item: Item | Edit web page (Ctrl+Shift+0) (=disable editing)

Use step 5 to create readonly html items.
Use steps 6-8 to edit and protect again.

Recommended setting:
unchecked "Automatically begin editing web page items when selected" (Tools/Options/Documents)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-05-2013, 09:12 AM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
Thanks everyone for their input, I will give these suggestions a try, but this is just a work around. I was hoping to hear back from Kinook directly if this is something they can add to a future release.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-05-2013, 09:33 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
We moved the thread to the Suggestions forum and added the request to our issue database.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-17-2013, 02:49 PM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
In another thread you mentioned an update will be coming out soon: coming out soon

Will this read only feature item Property be included in this release?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-17-2013, 05:32 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
Yes, it will be.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-17-2013, 06:21 PM
wordmuse wordmuse is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-11-2006
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinook View Post
Yes, it will be.
Cool - As Frank-N-Furter said in a different context: I am "waiting with antici-



-pation."

- Bal
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-18-2013, 08:11 AM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
Fantastic!!!!! I am so looking forward to having that feature!!!


Thanks!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-19-2013, 11:57 AM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
The new feature works GREAT!!!!!

Thanks so much, this is a life saver, I have a lot of scripts that I store here, and this will insure that all the work I have done to create them will not be accidentally modified.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.