Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:59 PM
CMoore CMoore is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-13-2006
Posts: 8
Error creating IIS Virtual Direction on Remote PC

Hi,

I'm getting an error when creating a virtual directory in IIS on a remote PC. It works ok to create an IIS application on a server on our LAN, but if I try to create the application on a server through the internet, I get the error:

Error in Action (JScript) script code at Line 21, Column 2 (The remote server machine does not exist or is unavailable)

I can ping the machine and I have opened the firewall to this server to allow the following protocols...is there something I am missing? Do I need to set some permissions somewhere?

RPC endpoint mapper
135/tcp, 135/udp
Network basic input/output system (NetBIOS) name service
137/tcp, 137/udp
NetBIOS datagram service
138/udp
NetBIOS session service
139/tcp
RPC dynamic assignment
1024-65535/tcp
Server message block (SMB) over IP (Microsoft-DS)
445/tcp, 445/udp
Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP)
389/tcp
LDAP ping
389/udp
LDAP over SSL
636/tcp
Global catalog LDAP
3268/tcp
Global catalog LDAP over SSL
3269/tcp
Kerberos
88/tcp, 88/udp
Domain Name Service (DNS)
53/tcp1, 53/udp
Windows Internet Naming Service (WINS) resolution (if required)
1512/tcp, 1512/udp
WINS replication (if required)
42/tcp, 42/udp

I am using version Visual Build Professional 6.2a.

Thanks,
C
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2007, 07:47 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,723
I don't know. The IIS Virtual Dir action uses WMI to administer IIS, so that would be a question for MS. Put something like this in a .vbs file to debug external to VBP:

Set svr = GetObject("IIS://servername/w3svc/1/Root")
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:22 AM
CMoore CMoore is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-13-2006
Posts: 8
Ah well now that I know it's WMI, there appears to be a few MS support articles detailing all the things you need set up in Windows Firewall that may be stopping it, I'll check it out and see if that fixes it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2007, 07:29 PM
CMoore CMoore is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-13-2006
Posts: 8
Ah well, I've spent a couple of days playing with the firewall and many other DCOM/WMI bits and pieces and reading multitudes of websites on the topic, but I can't get it to work...so...

Can I do this another way? Can I use an MSBuild Task to create the remote virtual directory? Or something else?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2007, 09:50 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,723
I don't know if the security issues will be any different, but you could try remotely launching a .bld project or script on the remote computer to create the virtual dir local to that machine, using the VisBuildPro Project action (if VBP is installed there) or a Run Program action.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/vbpremotetab.htm
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/programremotetab.htm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.