Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2010, 11:45 PM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Absolue UR URL Address

How to create absolute UR URL address?
Currently UR can create only relative UR URL addresses such as ur:///?item=1234,1234,1234,12347,1234 with Ctrl+Shift+C.
Thanks.
Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2010, 06:33 AM
quant's Avatar
quant quant is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-30-2006
Posts: 967
the link is absolute if you paste is to the file that is not in the same path as the file the item comes from.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2010, 06:46 AM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Hi Quant,
Thanks for your help.
My objective is to create a hyperlink in MindManager referring to an info item in UR. Currently, I've to manually edit the hyperlink. It's a tedious process.

Last edited by armsys; 08-29-2010 at 07:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:08 AM
quant's Avatar
quant quant is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-30-2006
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally posted by armsys
Hi Quant,
Thanks for your help.
My objective is to create a hyperlink in MindManager referring to an info item in UR. Currently, I've to manually edit the hyperlink. It's a tedious process.
You could create a dummy urd file that is located somewhere else than your main file. Then every time you need to link something to MM, first drag-drop it to item notes of one of the items in this dummy urd file, where you can see that the created link would be absolute and you could use it for MM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:15 AM
$bill $bill is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-14-2006
Posts: 208
Perhaps if you adjust the Item command-line syntax used when copying the selected item's shortcut to the clipboard (Ctrl+Shift=I).

For example, the format-
ur://%DB_URL%?item=%ITEM%
produces
ur://D:/DataStore/UltraRecall/GTD.urd?item=1548

This worked for me in past with mindmanager but I don't currently have it installed to test it.


http://www.kinook.com/UltraRecall/Ma...miscdialog.htm
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:30 AM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Hi $Bill & Quant,
Thanks for your help.
$Bill's solution works brilliantly.
The current default setting for the command-line syntax is similar to $Bill's.
My hotkey, ie, Ctrl+Shift+C, was the wrong one.
$Bill, thanks for telling me the correct hotkey, ie, Ctrl+Shift+I.
Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2010, 07:58 AM
quant's Avatar
quant quant is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-30-2006
Posts: 967
nice, I forgot about that ...

I also played with MM, the brain and others, but it never worked for me. Everytime I created some mindmap, I wanted it to have in UR, so that I could link existing info in UR to it. I ended up with having duplicated info in mind map and UR, at the end, I always deleted the mind map and just created simple "mind map" structure in UR. I wish we had some plugin that would display data like in ConnectedText or MindRaider
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.