Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2007, 03:11 PM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
How to update compiled .exe version number in Wise?

I am trying to update the version number for the installation .wse file that I'm compiling, and I don't see a field where I could enter a macro with the updated version number. I know I can pass along a compilation variable, but so far, I have been unable to do so successfully. Instead of placing the version value, is shows the macro name on the Version tab of the .exe file that was created. Either I'm not doing this right or the variable isn't being passed on. I am using Wise Installation System 9.02. There is a field where I could enter the Installation Version number located on Installation Expert -> Project Definition -> General Information. Any ideas? I would prefer using VBP for this, but if that's not possible, I believe I can do it within Wise. Although, I'm not sure if it will affect my compilation if I do it within Wise.

Last edited by ambalboa; 08-03-2007 at 03:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2007, 05:09 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,657
Sounds like you might be using MACRO_NAME instead of %MACRO_NAME% when passing the version value.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:25 AM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
You mean, for the compiler variables that I declare on the Wise tab. I tried _VERSION_=%VER_NUM% as well as %_VERSION_%= %VER_NUM% and neither works. Can you provide more details as to how to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2007, 01:22 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,657
See Installation Expert Pages -> General Information and Installation Expert Pages -> Compiler Variables in the Wise Installation System Reference Manual.
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/wisetab.htm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2007, 06:40 PM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
Finally, I did it.

On Wise, I placed "%_VERSION_%" on the version field, created it on the Compiler Variables page, unchecked 'Do not prompt for value' (did nothing else) and checked the 'Compiling from Command Line.' VBP is now creating the Setup.EXE and setting (before incrementing with a previous step) the file version every time. On the Property field in the 'Wise Setup' action step, I declare the _VERSION_ value, which is basically adding it to the command line, and its Value is a macro with the updated version number. So that's how I did it.

Weird thing is, the success of the build isn't as consistent as I would expect. Seems to me that it fails almost as much as it builds successfully; especially when running it on its own by using the 'Scheduled Task.' Works fine when building that step only. I'm using Wise Installation System 9. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.