Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2006, 01:40 AM
Derek Cornish Derek Cornish is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-12-2006
Posts: 1
Using third-party url addresses in UR

Some third-party programs offer access to their data via special url addresses. For example, Biblioscape (a bibliographic program) allows its program to be activated and a reference displayed by means of an cut-and-pasted url, e.g.:

biblioscape://RefID=1404

Web Research (used to be ContentSaver) also allows one to copy the web address of data (e.g., htm pages and pdf files) to other programs, e.g.:

wr://DocID=FDF4E188-ADCA-486C-8628-C108D8B39DBB&ArchiveID=3D7420D4-B63D-11D7-9E28-AD9257ECAA38

In MS-Word, for example, one activates "hyperlink" and pastes the address into a document, then Ctrl-clicks on it to activate the third-party program and open it to the data in question.

I am sure that an earlier version of UR allowed these addresses to be activated, but now I can't find a way of doing it. There appears to be no way of "turning on" the pasted addresses to make them into usable hyperlinks.

Can anyone help me out with this?

Derek
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2006, 07:32 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,612
I believe that the rich edit control (used for editing Text item details) will only show address beginning with a few well-known protocols (ftp://, http://, https://, mailto://, file://, news://, nntp://, outlook://, callto://, gopher://, telnet:// are ones I'm aware of) as a hyperlink. Another possibility is that some versions of the rich edit control (riched20.dll) do show other URLs as hyperlinks. Copying such a version to your UR install path (with UR not running) would cause UR to use that version.

You can still launch a url that isn't hyperlinked by selecting it and using right-click -> Open Shortcut (Ctrl+Q).

Another option would be to create a Document (or derived template) item and store the URL in its URL attribute. You could then launch it via Item | Open Document (Ctrl+J).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.