Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-01-2008, 03:15 PM
score score is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 02-15-2008
Location: austin,tx
Posts: 14
Ok, It actually went through the whole build when I added the statement:

Application.Options.RunProgramOutputWaitTimeout = 1000
Application.Options.RunProgramInputWaitTimeout = 1000

which was exciting. So I ran it again this morning, but it hung one step after the last hang. So it seems like it didn't "fix" it. May have moved it.

I'll try the next two steps. However I am not sure what is meant but a "chained" child. (other than what i would like to do to my 2 yr old sometimes . Is a chained child a subsequent call to another .bld file? If so I don't have one so wont do step 4.

doing step 3:

3) Removing the VBP DEP exclusions (Control Panel -> System -> Advanced -> Data Execution Prevention -> Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select, Remove Visual Build Professional and Visual Build Professional 6 Console App from the list, OK, and restart Windows) and then configuring Windows to 'Turn on DEP for essential Windows programs and services only' (in that same dialog) and restart again.

4) Adding a Wait step (5 seconds) at the end of a chained (child) build.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-01-2008, 04:57 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
If it's a Run Program step that is hanging, try changing the command to:

%DOSCMD% original cmd here >%TEMP%\out.txt

and Read program output from 'A file' of %TEMP%\out.txt

Also, back in April you indicated:

VisBuildPro.exe" /mta /s /b coleto.bld (no hang)
VisBuildPro.exe" /s /b coleto.bld (no hang)
VisBuildPro.exe" /mta coleto.bld (no hang)
VisBuildPro.exe" coleto.bld (hangs)

Is that still the case, or under what conditions does it now hang?

Are you able to reproduce a hang with the attached project (or some variation of it)?
Attached Files
File Type: zip test.zip (629 Bytes, 579 views)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-07-2008, 02:22 PM
score score is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 02-15-2008
Location: austin,tx
Posts: 14
Ok, ran the test.zip project a few times and it did not hang. I also did set 3) "Removing the VBP DEP exclusions " and it still hung.

As stated early, i do not know what is meant by a "chained" child. However I don't think i have that.

With the latest version of vbp (67a) I was not using the /mta switch. I can give that a try.

Is there any way I can get you more information so you can debug this? Do you output any debug log? or get a call stack or perhaps let you log into this system via webex
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-07-2008, 02:23 PM
score score is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 02-15-2008
Location: austin,tx
Posts: 14
I tried it with the /mta option on the command line and it didn't help. Still hung.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.