Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2009, 04:38 AM
LM7 LM7 is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-28-2006
Posts: 35
Extension for Thunderbird 3.0

Does anyone know how to make the UR TB extension work with the new release (3.0) of TB Mail? (THis is not just a question of changing the Max Version in the extension.)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2009, 05:57 PM
dasymington dasymington is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-15-2005
Posts: 287
That's a good question. I was going to install Thunderbird 3 but possible lack of support for the UR extension has put me off for the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2009, 05:34 PM
RalphCal RalphCal is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-17-2008
Posts: 22
I installed TB3 and the toolbar entry for "Ultra Recall" shows but does not work. I'm kinda missing that feature now. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2009, 03:58 PM
J-Mac's Avatar
J-Mac J-Mac is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2008
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 184
Worse yet, I can't get email messages into URp from Thunderbird 3.

Extension looks like it is working but nothing appears in UR.

Drag and drop the message from Thunderbird 3 into UR; I get the little plus sign next to the cursor indicating it is copying it but again, nothing appears in UR.

I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium and UR Pro 4.1.1.0.

Thank you.

Jim

Installed the current build - 4.1.2.3 - which also installs the latest TB and FF extensions but Thunderbird 3 emails still cannot be imported into URp.

Any fix coming for this?

Thank you.

Jim

Last edited by J-Mac; 12-19-2009 at 03:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2009, 04:18 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,656
It appears that in v3, they broke something in the APIs used to retrieve the selected messages. The documentation on changes is worse than non-existent (what exists seems to be incorrect). And we can't get the JS debugger working in TB 3 either. If someone wants to debug the extension, they're more than welcome to -- all the code is there. Otherwise, it's probably best to stick with TB 2.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2009, 04:55 PM
J-Mac's Avatar
J-Mac J-Mac is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2008
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
It appears that in v3, they broke something in the APIs used to retrieve the selected messages. The documentation on changes is worse than non-existent (what exists seems to be incorrect). And we can't get the JS debugger working in TB 3 either. If someone wants to debug the extension, they're more than welcome to -- all the code is there. Otherwise, it's probably best to stick with TB 2.
I think I am going to trash T-Bird 3, it is that bad otherwise also.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2009, 05:57 PM
dasymington dasymington is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-15-2005
Posts: 287
I suppose it would be nice to have a new Thunderbird from a look and feel point of view, but, as I store all the messages I want to keep in UR for searching, I can't see there's much benefit in Thunderbird 3 for me. I appreciate that others might not feel the same so I hope this can be sorted out sometime soon.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-22-2009, 12:10 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,656
In the latest download, the UR TB extension has been updated to work with Thunderbird v3. You do need to manually add the toolbar button via Customize.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-22-2009, 01:57 AM
RalphCal RalphCal is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-17-2008
Posts: 22
Concerning TB3 and UR Extension ... seems to work BUT not like it used to. Looks like the email is automatically placed in the import folder ... which works ok, but I thought it used show a dialog to allow you to place the email anywhere. I could be thinking of something else - I also work with Outlook. :-)

Thanks for fixing this so quickly!!

<Ralph>
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-22-2009, 02:46 AM
J-Mac's Avatar
J-Mac J-Mac is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2008
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 184
Seems to be working fine here. Thanks!

BTW Ralph: Here it has always gone directly into the Import folder. All captures, web and email.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-22-2009, 03:56 AM
dasymington dasymington is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-15-2005
Posts: 287
There are options in Tools | Options | Import that you can set to allow you to choose the import location, insert at the bolded item in the Data Explorer pane, etc. Perhaps these also work with the Thunderbird 3 import.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-22-2009, 10:13 AM
RalphCal RalphCal is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-17-2008
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally posted by dasymington
There are options in Tools | Options | Import that you can set to allow you to choose the import location, insert at the bolded item in the Data Explorer pane, etc. Perhaps these also work with the Thunderbird 3 import.
Thanks, forgot about that.
The importing from TB3 to UR is working GREAT!
Thanks,

<Ralph>
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:08 PM
goggin goggin is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-26-2008
Posts: 15
Yes, thank you for the great support! It's crucial to the userbase that snags like like this get overcome.

Once again, thank you for the quick response!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.