Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 4.33 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2003, 07:26 PM
glendhu3 glendhu3 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-29-2002
Posts: 1
SourceSafe actions resetting Working Folder

I'm writing a script that gets code from SourceSafe to a clean BUILD
folder, as opposed to my normal DEVELOPMENT folder.
I'm using a these of SourcSafe actions - Status, GetLatest, CheckOut,
Checkin, UndoCheckOut. After the script has run I want the
SourceSafe working folder for all projects to continue to point to my
DEVELOPMENT folder but calling the SourceSafe actions in Visual
Buidler seems to be setting the Working Folder to the BUILD folder.
All actions (except for the STATUS action) have a macro value in
the "Path for local files" field.
I'm using Visual Buidler 4.6a
Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2003, 07:27 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,654
The only command-line option that should change the VSS working folder for a
user is the WorkFold command. If you're not using that and the working folder
is getting changed by a VSS operation, there may be a bug in VSS, since the
SourceSafe action in VisBuildPro actually calls its command-line program
(ss.exe) to perform the operation. You might also look into the
Force_Dir/Force_Proj variables (or equivalent settings at Tools | Options |
Command Line Options in the VSS Explorer) -- I don't know if those settings
would have any effect on this behavior or not. Finally, as a workaround, you
may want to consider creating a separate 'build' user to be used by your
automated build (which should prevent your own working folders from being
affected).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2003, 07:30 PM
paulblac paulblac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-14-2001
Posts: 1
Kinook is correct -- SourceSafe tracks working folders separately for
all user accounts in a special .INI file on the server, so if you log
in with a different account, the working folders will be different.
I got around your problem by setting up a separate user account in
SourceSafe called 'Autobuild'. This special account is used only for
build scripts and any changes to working folders will not affect
other accounts.
One thing to keep in mind when using the Undo Checkout command. You
must set your working folder before calling this command. Otherwise,
if the checkout folder is different than the current working folder,
the operation will fail.
If you have any other SourceSafe questions, just ask. I've been a
user and administrator for over 2 years and have figured out a thing
or two about it.

Hope this helps.

Paul Blacquiere
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.