Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2007, 11:03 AM
maynard's Avatar
maynard maynard is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-03-2006
Posts: 56
UR3 DLL/EXE Exception on Startup

I've started experiencing startup exceptions in UR.

After installing UR 3.0.4.0 over the top of UR 2.x all ran fine for a few weeks and then a USER32.DLL exception dialog started popping up immediately after startup. I then installed UR 3.1 over the top of 3.0.4.0 and am now getting a different startup exception in UltraRecall.exe (the USER32 error no longer occurs.)

See attached JPG of error dialogs.

I have installed other software during this period, so might there be a DLL version conflict going on here?? How can I check?

Thanks
Maynard
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2007, 12:43 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
I'm pretty sure the API mentioned in the first error message would never be called by UR itself. Could something be hooking itself in the UR process and interfering with UR? I notice that your screen shots have a non-standard look and feel. Are you using some Windows extender such as WindowBlinds? Does UR continue to function normally after the error is displayed?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2007, 12:18 AM
maynard's Avatar
maynard maynard is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-03-2006
Posts: 56
hey kinook.

I'm running Stardock IconPackager 3.1 but not WindowBlinds. Not sure how that hooks into the OS... Once UR loads it runs fine; no problemo. I only see the USER32.DLL error dialog when UR starts.

thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2007, 07:15 PM
maynard's Avatar
maynard maynard is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-03-2006
Posts: 56
More Info.

The exception also occurs when I open other databases after UR is already up and running; so it seems to have something to do with opening the file.

Also. I neglected to mention that in addition to using IconPackager I also have a VisualStyles theme, CodeOpus from DeviantArt installed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:11 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
Any ideas on what might have changed on the box (software installed/update, Windows updates, etc.) when this started happening (and does undoing any of those changes help?)?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2007, 03:39 AM
maynard's Avatar
maynard maynard is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-03-2006
Posts: 56
OK. I found the following thread regarding this issue:
http://groups.google.fr/group/micros...e00f0300aa94f5

Basically, it looks like a Vista dll, dwmapi.dll, is possibly getting installed with IE7 that causes the following error message when UR starts. I'm also seeing the same error with a couple of other apps.

"The procedure entry point IsThreadDesktopComposited could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.DLL"

I renamed dwmapi.dll to dwmapi.dll.bak and the error disappeared in UR, but God only knows what else that will affect. While running IE7 inside of UR there does not seem to be any problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.