Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Suggestions

Old 11-16-2004, 03:27 AM

Browser interface like CruiseControl?

I've been using Visual Build for a couple of years and its totally changed the way I build and deploy software. However, I'm now looking beyond demand-driven and scheduled builds with a view to continuous integration.

I also have to work with an offshore team who currently rely on me or my local team to iniate builds. They have been unable to integrate SourceOffSite into a build script. It would make more sense if they could initiate a build on a remote build machine through a browser interface.

I know you already include sample code for continuous integration but do you have plans to extend Visual Build to something more like CruiseControl.NET? I think the simiplicy of script development with VisualBuild combined with Project Dashboard and browser driven GUI in CruiseControl would make a fabulous combination.
Old 11-16-2004, 10:50 AM

Custom Builder

You could write a custom builder for CruiseControl.net. You would be using CruiseControl.net on the front end, and the back end would be using VisBuildPro.

Here's the how-to:
http://confluence.public.thoughtwork...ion?pageId=441

Alternately, you can use the CruiseControl.net command-line builder to call VisBuildPro.

http://confluence.public.thoughtwork...d+Line+Builder
Old 11-17-2004, 05:41 PM

Having trouble with CC.NET and commandline VS Pro

I'm trying to get CruiseControl.net and Visual Build to work together and running into a problem with the converstion of the xml log to an html log:

Closing any open log tags...
Loading XML input document...
Error at line 3, position 3 loading 'C:\DOCUME~1\build\LOCALS~1\Temp\bld193.tmp': End tag was not expected at this location.

From the file(there is an empty line at the top of the file and then the following):

<status code='0'>Completed</status>
</step>