Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2006, 03:12 PM
MHolmes MHolmes is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-27-2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6
Issue building a VS.NET SLN

I am having some serious issues building some sln's we have using VS.NET and VisualBuild 5.7. I keep getting the message:

Error loading info for project file 'd:\builds\1.x\HTPS\Libs\..\..\OpenSource\FreeTDS\ freetds-0.63\win32\VS2003\FreeTDS.vcproj': Illegal characters in path.

I can open these sln's perfectly fine on their own, and I can build them myself using the command line tools. Only when I try and build them through VisualBuild does this issue come up.

I've seen some other threads about this, and none of them seemed to be exactly the same issue. Could it possibly be that the .vcproj files have " splattered throughout them because of quotes in various paths?

Also, it's not the ..\..\ in the path, because I've opened the file using that path and had no issues. This same error appears if I try and load the freetds project directly (as in, building it's vcproj from inside VisualBuild...same error).

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2006, 04:03 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,687
Please ZIP and send or post:
1) The info from Help | About | Install Info
2) The .bld file used to build
3) The .sln file and project files (no source code files)

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:28 AM
Erik Erik is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-02-2006
Posts: 6
Hello!

I have the same problem as issued MHolmes. In addition I can tell them on another computer this .bld file works fine.

What is solution for this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2006, 09:12 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,687
Please ZIP and send or post:
1) The info from Help | About | Install Info
2) The .bld file used to build
3) The .sln file and project files (no source code files)

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2006, 10:07 AM
Erik Erik is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-02-2006
Posts: 6
But haven`t you fixed this bug since MHolmes post? I thought that it was already fixed since april.

I reinstalled Visual Build (my current version is 6.2, previous was 6.1) but the problem is still exists.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2006, 01:50 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,687
I don't believe MHolmes ever responded.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2006, 05:22 AM
Erik Erik is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-02-2006
Posts: 6
I collected all required information to reproduce this bug. It is in attached file. I hope that this will help you to understand what is wrong.

Please, fix it as soon as you can.
Attached Files
File Type: zip visualbuild_6_2_bug.zip (70.2 KB, 425 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2006, 07:46 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,687
I wasn't able to reproduce the error (it got past the part where VBP parses the project files). Please ZIP and send your build log file and indicate the drive+path where your files reside (I unzipped your files to d:\src\support\esignal).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:40 AM
Erik Erik is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-02-2006
Posts: 6
Path on my local machine where this error reproduces every time is: E:\VisualBuild_6_2_Bug\. The directory structure is the same as in ZIP I`ve attached above.

Here is ZIP with VisualBuild log output:
Attached Files
File Type: zip visualbuildlog.zip (391 Bytes, 435 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2006, 12:01 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,687
Do you have an environment variable named MC_PATH? What is its value?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-05-2006, 02:03 AM
Erik Erik is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-02-2006
Posts: 6
Yes, I have this variable on my computer, it`s value is just a path on disk: D:\Program Files\TS Support\MultiCharts.

Is the problem in this environment variable?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-05-2006, 09:23 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,687
We may be on to something. Does the value of the variable contain double quotes? I was able to reproduce the error when set like

set MC_PATH="D:\Program Files\TS Support\MultiCharts"

but not for

set MC_PATH=D:\Program Files\TS Support\MultiCharts

Double quotes should not be necessary for proper building, but the Make VS.NET step is not expecting the value to contain double quotes.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-05-2006, 11:28 AM
Erik Erik is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-02-2006
Posts: 6
Yes, you are quite right: problem was in double quotes in the value of environment variable MC_PATH. When I removed these quotes and relogged in to system, everything began work correctly. The problem is solved.

Thank you very much for you assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.