Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:30 AM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
minor url bug

when pasting urls contains bracket characters "{" and "}" they are converted to backlash "\" and makes the url invalid. The workaround is to manually type %7B and %7D.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:36 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
Not sure where the URL came from, but I don't believe curly braces are valid in a URL, and they should have been encoded.
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6...e-curly-braces
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:51 AM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
The URL is to tasks in MLO. See page 28 here: http://www.mylifeorganized.net/downl...7s%20Guide.pdf

I would expect UR to encode the URL as per the RFC.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2012, 07:14 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
I would expect MLO to encode the URL.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2012, 02:08 PM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
Touché. I have raised the issue with them. The thing is, in UR if I enter a link with a space/plus/equal sign in it, it does not get encoded to %20/%3D/%2BF unlike firefox/IE yet it changes { and } to \ so it looks like it is trying to do something to the URL but unsuccessfully.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:31 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
I follow you now. I believe you're referring to the URL when inserting a hyperlink, not when importing a page. Yes, I am seeing that behavior and have flagged it for investigation.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2012, 04:43 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
This is fixed in the latest download at http://www.kinook.com/Download/UltraRecallProEval.exe (UltraRecall.exe 5.0.0.1 in Help | About | Install Info after installing).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2012, 11:48 PM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
Wow. That was quick. There is still one minor problem though.
Try this:
1. Insert hyperlink
2. In Text field type: test
3. In File/URL type (with the quotes): http://www.google.com.sg/#hl=en&q="ultra recall"
4. Click OK
5. Right click on the hyperlink. (doesn't look right)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2012, 07:28 AM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
One more thing is that there is a noticeable performance degrade with the new version when moving from item to item with the new version. I reverted to the old version and found that the performance to be better. Click on items which have children which are external file links has the most noticeable delay.
I have SelChangeDelay and Synchronous set to zero so something else is going on.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:03 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
The double quote problem is fixed in the latest build (5.0.0.2). I don't know what could cause a slow down and I'm not seeing one here, although I wouldn't recommend using a SelChangeDelay of 0.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:09 AM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
Thanks. I'll try it out. What sort of behaviour could be attributed to the SelChangeDelay of 0 ?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:15 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
It could make UR respond more sluggishly -- without a delay, if you want to scroll several items in the tree (i.e., holding down arrow up/down or page up/down, typing to choose an item, etc.), each item scrolled past will load before moving to the next item.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-27-2012, 01:55 AM
seanferns seanferns is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 01-30-2012
Posts: 56
Works great. Thank you. As for the performance issue, I am not quite sure what's causing it. After playing with UR for a while it seems that whenever I click on a folder display a directory subsequent navigation is slow. Raising the priority of the process seems to help a bit. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Copyright © 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.