Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Third Party Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2004, 06:30 PM
jmm jmm is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-29-2004
Posts: 10
Way to set VB6 project version to 1.2.3.4

The main justification for our group to use VBP is to automatically set the File Version in our group's VB6, VC6 & VS.Net automated builds. It does that job very well. I had planned to use a versioning scheme with 4 chunks:

<major>.<minor>.<sr>.<build>

This works (by default) for all source types but VB6. E.G., if I set the Project Version to 1.2.3.4, the resulting VB6 file version is 1.2.0.3. In the VB6 IDE, the Project's Make property only shows 3 version number "chunks". Is there a way around this using VBP? Or will I have to use a 3-chunk scheme?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2004, 06:45 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
That is a limitation of VB6 that VBP does not try to work around. You might be able to use something like StampVer [1], which can modify the version info resource in a compiled executable, to hack around this. But then you'd also have to hack around it in your VB code to retrieve that extra version field. It seems better to use a 3-field format for VB applications, or, depending on how large of numbers you use, you might be able to combine, say sr*1000+build into the revision field and extract it out when showing to the user in the VB app.

[1] http://www.elphin.com/products/stampver.html (although the web site is not currently responsive)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2007, 04:35 PM
ambalboa ambalboa is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 06-25-2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 70
So if I understand you correctly, the version number can only be 3 digits, as in 1.2.3, for a vb6 project. My question is this: How big can each number grow before it becomes a problem or error? Would a version number like 1.2.999, the next time it's incremented, turn to 1.3.0 automatically? Does one number at a certain point increment the other numbers, and if so, when?

I am able to increment and set the version number for an executable file, but I don't know if I should worry about it reaching a value to where it won't work. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2007, 05:00 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,752
It appears that the VB6 version limits are 9999.9999.9999
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.