Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2008, 05:17 PM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
Remove duplicates

I'm not sure if this has come up already but I have found myself on a number of occasions with duplicate mail items - could there be a way automate the removal of duplicates - or at lease to display duplicates only to facilitate their manual removal?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2008, 02:45 AM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Not sure if your suggestion may relate to Outlook, which is often the source of duplicate emails. Please clarify. Thanks.
Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2008, 09:46 AM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
Yes outlook is usually the source of this problem for me. I might unintentionally drag the contents of an outlook folder to an ur3 item more than once and have a host of duplicates. I am thinking of something similar to a function in Zoot that allows duplicates to be deleted automatically.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2008, 10:23 AM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
I could only propose a primitive solution:
1. search the recently created Info Items;
2. sort by Item Title;
3. delete the duplicates manually.
Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2008, 12:34 PM
Ivan Ivan is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 19
Thanks for the help - I'll give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2008, 06:37 PM
quant's Avatar
quant quant is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-30-2006
Posts: 967
I don't have an outlook, so don't know whether it works the same (ie. whether importing from outlook stores some kind of URL), but there is "create logically linked items for duplicate URL" setting, which should make clear that item already exists in UR file if you by mistake import it second time.
And if you have parents pane open (which I do all the time in my main layout to have the whole picture of my data structure), you can immediately see the location of the existing item.

Last edited by quant; 02-03-2008 at 06:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2008, 11:16 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,757
As long as the URL as reported for the item by Outlook doesn't change (which it apparently does for some users in some cases), UR will identify the same item getting imported again and logically link to the existing item rather than duplicating.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.