Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2010, 03:19 PM
mr_slava mr_slava is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-11-2010
Posts: 7
Telnet connection with SSH

Trying to use "Telnet" Action from VBP 7.7. The action is failing and I cannot get the reason what is going on. The same connection works just fine from Putty. The following is the log from the action:

11/12/2010 3:19:24 PM: -------------------- Starting Build: 'ssh.bld' --------------------
11/12/2010 3:19:24 PM: Building project step 2 - Telnet...
Connecting to SSH server 'acer2.ourhost.local' on port 22
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: started thread 0xA64 trace on 11-12-2010 15:19:24 [6.0.6030]
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: gethostbyname("acer2.ourhost.local") returned 172.10.10.6 (acer2.ourhost.local)
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: socket(2, 1, 0) returned 844
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0016 INF: setsockopt(844, 65535, 256, 0x22edfe4, 4) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: setsockopt(844, 6, 1, 0x22edfe4, 4) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: bind(844, 0.0.0.0:0, 16) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0015 INF: connect(844, 172.10.10.6:22, 16) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: WSAEventSelect(844, 0x358, 0x0000003f) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: WSAEnumNetworkEvents(844, 0x0, 0x022ee09c) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0110 INF: WSAEnumNetworkEvents(844, 0x0, 0x022ee09c) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0015 INF: recv(844, 0x22e907c, 20480, 0) returned 21
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: send(844, 0x20762bc, 25, 0) returned 25
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: send(844, 0x20762bc, 512, 0) returned 512
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: send(844, 0x2076a5c, 104, 0) returned 104
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0031 INF: WSAEnumNetworkEvents(844, 0x0, 0x022ee09c) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: recv(844, 0x22e907c, 20480, 0) returned 784
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: send(844, 0x2076a5c, 16, 0) returned 16
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0032 INF: WSAEnumNetworkEvents(844, 0x0, 0x022ee09c) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0000 INF: recv(844, 0x22e907c, 20480, 0) returned 536
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0187 INF: send(844, 0x2076a5c, 512, 0) returned 512
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0016 INF: send(844, 0x20762bc, 16, 0) returned 16
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0031 INF: WSAEnumNetworkEvents(844, 0x0, 0x022ee09c) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151924 0016 INF: recv(844, 0x22e907c, 20480, 0) returned 1104
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0203 INF: send(844, 0x20762bc, 16, 0) returned 16
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0015 INF: send(844, 0x20762bc, 52, 0) returned 52
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0000 INF: WSAEnumNetworkEvents(844, 0x0, 0x022ee09c) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0000 INF: recv(844, 0x22e907c, 20480, 0) returned 52
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0000 INF: send(844, 0x20762bc, 84, 0) returned 84
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0016 INF: WSAEnumNetworkEvents(844, 0x0, 0x022ee09c) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0000 INF: recv(844, 0x22e907c, 20480, 0) returned 68
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0016 INF: send(844, 0x20762bc, 84, 0) returned 84
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0000 INF: WSAEventSelect(844, 0x358, 0x00000000) returned 0
VISBUILDPRO 151925 0000 INF: closesocket(844) returned 0

Error connecting to SSH server: Invalid handle passed to function
11/12/2010 3:19:25 PM: Step '2 - Telnet' failed
11/12/2010 3:19:25 PM: Build ended (elapsed = 00:00:01).


Can I get some help on the issue. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:01 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
Please post (or send to support@kinook.com) #1 and #6 from http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...threadid=3044. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:46 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
According to the vendor of the networking component, it looks like the SSH handshake is being performed, but either the server doesn't like one of the options or it's not supporting a required feature. The first thing they suggest is making sure that the SSH server is configured to support password authentication. They have a knowledge base article at http://www.catalyst.com/kb/100352 which discusses this particular issue. Although it's written to address an issue with the default SuSE configuration, it could apply to other systems as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2010, 10:53 AM
mr_slava mr_slava is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-11-2010
Posts: 7
I have sent additional information requested via e-mail. As I mention earlier in my post I able to connect using PuTTY without any issues. The system I am trying to connect to is MacOS. From the PuTTY log I can see it using SSH2 protocol. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2010, 02:10 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
Using VBP 7.7, I was able to connect to a SSH server running Mac OS X 10.5.8 (a MacBook). Which version of OS X are you running and is there anything else that could affect the connection (firewalls, security software, etc.)?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2010, 02:17 PM
mr_slava mr_slava is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-11-2010
Posts: 7
The version of our MacOS is 10.6.5.

Meanwhile I am playing with PuTTY command line options and so far I able connect just by using DOS command line switches without any issues. Currently trying to execute something on Mac. This would be my work around if I will not be able to solve the issue with "SHH Telnet" VBP option.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2010, 02:07 PM
mr_slava mr_slava is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-11-2010
Posts: 7
Is this all help I am going to get? Do I have to wait a bit longer or maybe you require some other information from me?

Our company bought the upgrade ONLY just because this feature with SSH connection to do remote builds of Mac binaries. We do not see any other benefit with the upgrade we've bought. We would like to cooperate to fix the issue. Otherwise I do set command line to PuTTY which works perfect and run script on Mac; What of cause do not require upgrade of VBP from 6.7.
As I understand properly the telnet step from new studio should do the same, just create the command line to use with the tool and run it in/out of process or I misunderstood?

Here is the command line I am running from DOS prompt:

C:\Program Files\VisBuildPro7\Tools>putty -ssh acer2.ourhost.local -l user_name
-pw user_password -m "C:\Program Files\VisBuildPro7\Tools\sh_script.txt"

Works perfect all the time. Please kindly let me know if we going to work on the issue.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-22-2010, 11:52 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
We were was able to reproduce this behavior after upgrading to OS X 10.6.5, but unfortunately, the vendor of the networking component used in Visual Build has not yet responded to our support request regarding the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-23-2010, 09:36 AM
mr_slava mr_slava is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-11-2010
Posts: 7
This sounds very promising. Thanks for attention to this matter, will wait.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-2011, 02:42 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
We finally received an answer on this from the networking component vendor.

For some reason, this version of the SSH server is not indicating that it will accept password authentication. Instead, it's asking for interactive authentication (e.g.: something entered from the keyboard), and the component isn't expecting this. There is a workaround:

In the /etc/sshd_config file there is a line like:

#PasswordAuthentication no

If you change it to:

PasswordAuthentication yes

(remove the # at the beginning and change no to yes), it should resolve the problem. Apparently the default value of this setting changed with a Mac OS X update.

The vendor will also update the component to emulate the interactive authentication so that things will work with either setting value, and we will incorporate this into a future release of Visual Build.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-22-2012, 02:30 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
This is fixed in v8.0.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.