Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2007, 12:32 PM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Delete Recycle Bin - Not

Error repeated w or w/o delete sync items:
MSg : "Error Deleting Item(S) TitleAttributeID may not be null."

Install Info:

Ultra Recall Professional 3.2.5
Registered to: Jan Rifkinson (1-user license)
Windows version: 5.0.2195.4.0
Install path: C:\Program Files\UltraRecall
EncryptPDF.dll version 3.0.0.2
mimepp.dll version 3.0.4
pdf2txt.dll version 3.1.0.4
PolarSpellChecker.dll version 4.0.5.4
RICHED20.DLL version 5.50.99.2010
SftPrintPreview_IX86_U_10.dll version 1.05
SftTree_IX86_U_50.dll version 5.06
UltraRecall.exe version 3.2.5.3
unins000.exe version 51.49.0.0
Database filename: C:\Documents and Settings\Jan Rifkinson\My Documents\My UltraREcall Databases\all_my_stuff.urd
Database version: 3.0.13

~ end ~
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2007, 02:22 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
Repair your database (Tools | Compact & Repair w/ Repair and Reset checked).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2007, 05:09 PM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
Repair your database (Tools | Compact & Repair w/ Repair and Reset checked).
I ran repair | compact (no reset) & all but one blank text item was able to delete manually.

Witout proof I suspect I could have done ths w/o the repair | compact but no harm done, of course.

Attributes don't indicate anything strange.

Cannot be renamed via F2 but can be renamed to date | date/time, etc. Cannot be copied. Cannot be moved. It cannot be searched by ID #.

Thoughts? Really don't want to 'reset' my settings un-necessarily.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2007, 05:35 PM
kevina kevina is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 03-27-2003
Posts: 825
Create a new urd file, drag this "undeletable" item into the new urd file. Confirm that it can't be deleted from the new .urd file, then zip and email the new .urd file to support@kinook.com for our analysis.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2007, 05:51 PM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally posted by kevina
Create a new urd file, drag this "undeletable" item into the new urd file. Confirm that it can't be deleted from the new .urd file, then zip and email the new .urd file to support@kinook.com for our analysis.

Thanks
Thanks for prompt response/support. Can't copy/move (drag/drop) item to new database. Same null error. Grrrrrr.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2007, 08:08 AM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally posted by janrif
Thanks for prompt response/support. Can't copy/move (drag/drop) item to new database. Same null error. Grrrrrr.
bump
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2007, 08:53 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
Repair your database (Tools | Compact & Repair w/ Repair and Reset checked)...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2007, 09:00 AM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
Repair your database (Tools | Compact & Repair w/ Repair and Reset checked)...
Explain to me what reset has to do w this problem, pls. It's very easy for you to suggest reset but time consuming on my end. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2007, 12:03 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
It could fix the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2007, 12:51 PM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally posted by kinook
It could fix the problem.
oh, come on !!

I asked a serious question as I don't understand what reset to defaults has to do with an errant item. I say this because my understanding of the tools options is that

compact = compacts space left by deleted items
repair = repairs errant data items, orphans, etc
reset = resets menus, icons, etc to default

Please explain so I'll understand why I should invest the time to reset. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-26-2007, 01:33 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
"Reset all system information to defaults: Checking this box will ensure that the system defaults for all system Info Items, Attributes, Related Items Pane layouts will be reset to the default values."
http://www.ultrarecall.com/Manual/co...pairdialog.htm
It does not affect menu/toolbar/pane customizations.

If you don't want to or it doesn't help, make a copy of the db, open the copy, permanently delete (Shift+Del) everything except the problem item, compact, and ZIP and send it to support@kinook.com. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-26-2007, 05:16 PM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Kinook, requested file sent via gmail -- too big for my yahoo server. Hope you got it. If not will re-send. Just let me know. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-27-2007, 04:46 PM
wordmuse wordmuse is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-11-2006
Posts: 482
me too! me too!

I'm having the same problem - one item in the recycle bin...

Getting error message when I try to empty the recycle bin.

Error deleting item(s): Item.TitleAttributeID may not be NULL

I have the most recent version of urp3 (downloaded today) and I have repaired/compacted my database.

No luck changing it.

I can't move the item out of the recycle bin. The only solution I have for clearing it is to multi-select everything in the bin, deselect the one bad guy and then press Delete. This deletes everything but the one bad guy who is a persistent little bugger.

I tried charging him higher rent and he just laughs at me. I try killing him, but he replies, "I'm not dead yet."

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Regards,
Bal

Addendum: I just tried to make a stripped down copy of the file to send you. I deleted everything that was in the original file except for the one bad guy.

I decided to make a little test and tried one more time to delete the bad guy and he went away.

So I'm guessing that somehow, the bad guy is linked to another bad guy somewhere in my infobase. Once I deleted it, the linkage was removed and I could then delete the bad item.

I can't for the life of me figure out the linkage though. Any thoughts?

Last edited by wordmuse; 10-27-2007 at 05:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-27-2007, 06:00 PM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Re: me too! me too!

Quote:
Originally posted by wordmuse
I'm having the same problem - one item in the recycle bin...

Getting error message when I try to empty the recycle bin.

Error deleting item(s): Item.TitleAttributeID may not be NULL [snip]
Addendum: I just tried to make a stripped down copy of the file to send you. I deleted everything that was in the original file except for the one bad guy.

I decided to make a little test and tried one more time to delete the bad guy and he went away.

So I'm guessing that somehow, the bad guy is linked to another bad guy somewhere in my infobase. Once I deleted it, the linkage was removed and I could then delete the bad item. [/snip]
Because of your post, I tried the same process, i.e. I tested a copy of the stipped down file I sent to Kinook. And I was also able to delete my high rent tenent.

In any case, it looks like one of those little issues that needs resolution from Kinook. My OS is w2k-sp4. Can I assume yours is something else?

Last edited by janrif; 10-27-2007 at 06:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-27-2007, 09:07 PM
wordmuse wordmuse is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-11-2006
Posts: 482
yep - I'm using Vista. Be interesting to see what results ...

Regards,
Bal
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.