Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2003, 03:01 PM
Vladimir Vladimir is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-06-2003
Posts: 2
Question How to disable steps trace in the log?

It is possible to to that for particular steps via step script but how to do that globally?
The trace is usefull during debugging but it makes logs huge.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2003, 08:08 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
To enable/disable logging on a global basis, set or clear the LOGFILE macro, either by passing it in on the command-line or by disabling logging at the start of the build in the vbld_BuildStarting event.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2003, 03:17 PM
Vladimir Vladimir is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 09-06-2003
Posts: 2
Deer Administrator,

thank you for the prompt answer but my question is little bit different.

Here is the example of the log:

9/19/2003 1:09:54 PM: Building subroutine step 'Log Parms'...
9/19/2003 1:09:54 PM: Building subroutine step 'Log Settings'...
*******************************************
*** BROADbeam Automated Build Procedure
***
*** Product: BDS
*** Component ExpressQ log file started at 9/19/2003 1:09:54
*** Build type: Scheduled
*** VSS Label: BDS.4.1.1
***
*******************************************

How to disable the 1st two lines in the log (the trace of the script commands?).

It is convinient to have them during debugging but this trace makes log huge and hardly readable.
It would be good to have option to limit log with only 3d party console output and explicit writes to the log.

Regards,
Vladimir
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2003, 04:26 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
You can't disable that part of the logging for the built-in logging components. However, you could create your own custom logging component that does what you require and plug it into VisBuildPro. Lookup 'VBPLogger sample' in the help index and see that sample for more details.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.