Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2006, 11:58 AM
mdoepker mdoepker is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-09-2006
Posts: 2
Failure Steps are not being executed

I have a single failure step defined that will send an E-mail to the group when a build fails. I have tried numerous steps and can not get the Failed Steps to be executed when running from the Projects Steps tab.

If I go to the Failure Steps tab and then execute the step directly from there by selecting "Rebuild Selected" the E-mail will be sent no problem.

I have the 'Build failure steps' checked but when I assign the Failure step specifically or leave it blank so that it is supposed to run all failure steps, then I'm getting no e-mail notification.

I have created a simple Project Step (vbscript) that will fail everytime and I cannot get it to run the failure step.

Version is 6.1

Thanks
--Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:46 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
Building the attached project, I get the expected output of

Building project step 'Project steps'...
Building project step 'Run Script'...
Error in Run Script (VBScript) script code at Line 1, Column 11 (Expected end of statement)
Code: code that should fail to run
Step 'Run Script' failed
Building failure step 'Send Mail'...
...


Also note that when doing Rebuild Selected (rather than Build or Rebuild), failure steps are not executed if a step fails to build. If that is not the issue here, please send or post your bld file. Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: bld fail_step.bld (632 Bytes, 483 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:10 PM
mdoepker mdoepker is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 08-09-2006
Posts: 2
Ahhh, I was always doing "Rebuild Selected" and expecting it work. I just wanted to see it work before modifying my entire project to use this failure step.

If I do the full build then it works.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2006, 02:29 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,754
In that case, you could use Build from Cursor or Start from Cursor (resetting first if the step is marked completed).
http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/methodsofbuilding.htm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.