Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2004, 01:36 PM
tim.calderwood tim.calderwood is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-20-2003
Posts: 13
Zip Function for adding sub directories

I am using the built in Zip function and have the following directory structure.

C:\
CodeDir\
ProgramA\
ProgramB\
ProgramC\

I want to zip up sub folders ProgramA and ProgramC but want to exclude ProgramB. I have set the source folder to C:\CodeDir. I then tried excluding ProgramB\*.* but this zip everything including ProgramB. Therefore, I then tried including just ProgramA and ProgramC but this did not zip anything. The option is set for including sub folders.My questions is how can I just zip ProgramA and ProgramC without including ProgramB?

As a side question, what is the benefit of “Append to existing file (don’t use temporary file)”? I can not find anything in the help about this option.

Thanks ahead of time...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2004, 04:40 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
I'm not sure, a similar test here works as expected:

<step action='ZIP Files' type='0'>
<Action type='3'>2</Action>
<Compression>5</Compression>
<Delete type='11'>-1</Delete>
<Dest>%TEMP%\test.zip</Dest>
<ExclExt>User Actions\*.*</ExclExt>
<Hidden type='11'>-1</Hidden>
<LogDetail type='11'>-1</LogDetail>
<Recurse type='11'>-1</Recurse>
<Source>%VISBUILDDIR%\Samples</Source>
<indent type='3'>1</indent>
<name>zip</name>
</step>

You can copy and paste the text above into VisBuildPro. On my box, it excludes the files in the Samples\User Actions folder but includes all the other ones; if the exclude field is cleared, the files in that folder are included in the ZIP file.

The 'append to existing file' option does basically what it says, modifying the existing ZIP file rather than creating a temporary file and replacing the original with it when performing an update. It might be beneficial when working with really large ZIP files or when disk space is low.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2004, 04:48 PM
tim.calderwood tim.calderwood is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 05-20-2003
Posts: 13
Thanks for the quick reply. The problem comes from the "Save full path info". If you check this check box, then the includes and excludes are ignored. If you uncheck this box, then it works as described. Is this how it is supposed to work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2004, 05:02 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
Ah. Then you will need to specify the full path in the exclude field (%VISBUILDDIR%\Samples\User Actions\*.* in my sample).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:33 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,749
This is supported in the Enhanced ZIP Files action in v8.0.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Copyright © 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.