Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2019, 07:13 AM
nopcode nopcode is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-19-2016
Posts: 3
VisBuildCmd should honor no output flag

I have a secondary build file that has steps where the output from commands are suppressed; when called from my main build file using the mode setting "console app (visbuildcmd.exe), any CMD.exe line steps ignore the "read program output from" set to "none". In other words, my main build script gets all of the output that should have been suppressed in the secondary child script. It looks like visbuildcmd.exe is ignoring this setting and just directly piping all standard output right back to the main program.

This has the effect of both slowing down the build process horribly and cluttering the output window to where important information scrolls off.

I don't want to suppress everything (which I could by clearing the main "Capture output" flag), but that is my current work around.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2019, 10:47 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,596
Interesting, I believe it has always worked this way -- it's actually due to the fact that the CreateProcess API writes its output to the current console window if STARTF_USESTDHANDLES is not specified in STARTUPINFO. In v10.0, the handle is specified with output none to prevent this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.