Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2007, 08:35 PM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
Layout/Form for Search Info Items

Because Search Info Item can't be cloned as a link, it would be fantastic if a form or a layout can be assigned to the Search Info Items.

For those frequently used Search Info Items such as GTD Next Action and Daily News, the tedious verbosel <<Serach for:>> dialog is absolutely unnecessary. You want the information fast. Engrossing the details of the search criteria and parameters could degrade users' productivity, IMHO.

Happy new year!

Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2007, 07:56 AM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Armstrong, I'm not sure what you are after here but if you want to duplicate search criteria, I guess you know you can create a fast or advanced search & copy it w <CTRL>+C, paste it w <CTRL>+V, rename it, make it a favorite so it's a single click that opens in a new tab (if you select option) or not as you wish.

I spent one HK New Year high up in a beautiful hotel overlooking the harbor many years ago -- the first year that fireworks were allowed. It was spectacular.

Happy NY to you, too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2007, 11:47 AM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
janrif,

Thanks for your nice memory about HK. How do you like Ridgefield? I was from Columbus,OH.
Your advice about assigning a favorite to a Search item does help speed up the frequest searches. Since these are frequent searches, it doesn't make any sense to show the Search criteria and parameters again and again. Can these be eliminated?
I know you're one of the 2-year senior UR gurus here. I wish to learn more UR tricks from you.
I found you often use acronym URp. What does it stand for?

Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:05 PM
janrif janrif is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-08-2005
Location: Ridgefield CT USA
Posts: 852
Armstrong, I love Ridgefield CT, a small town of 20,000 w 2 museums, a symphony orchestra, a theatre for both movie & stage productions, a large library, 20% of land is open, i.e. no building, town gov't is conducted by town mtg, not representational gov't, i.e. 1 person = 1 vote -- but this has info has no place on this forum. If you are interested in more info go to URL http://www.ridgefieldct.org/

I would like to reiterate to you that I am not a UltraRecall guru. I use the program; that's all. Sometimes I know some little thing but there are many others here who are much more technically adept than I am. I think at the moment many may be on vaca.

URp = UltraRecall Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:52 PM
ashwken ashwken is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-16-2005
Location: Blairsville, GA USA
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally posted by armsys
Since these are frequent searches, it doesn't make any sense to show the Search criteria and parameters again and again. Can these be eliminated?
See attached screen shots.

The Search Criteria pane is the Detail Pane for the Search Item (see screen_search-2.png), I don't think there's any way to fully hide it - the Detail Pane is the only pane that can't be moved (it moves in relationship to the placement of other panes).

About the best you can do is to Lock the Search, then drag the top border of the Search Results Pane "upward" so that it over-rides the Detail Pane - but there is a limit on how much you can hide (see screen_search-3.png).

EDIT: 'Course, re-arranging the configuration of the Search Results Pane is going to carry over to other panes that appear in this area of screen real estate. You may have to look at saved Layouts also - something I haven't fully explored.
Attached Files
File Type: zip screens_search.zip (114.9 KB, 961 views)

Last edited by ashwken; 12-31-2007 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:20 PM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
ashwken,

Thanks a lot for your help. You may wish to delete the attachment which may contain live/proprietary data.
Again I appreciate your help.

Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2007, 02:06 PM
ashwken ashwken is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-16-2005
Location: Blairsville, GA USA
Posts: 431
Yes, that was a quick and dirty upload, didn't seem that it would compromise anything - uploaded new set of screen shots that show the same thing but from a different database.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:05 PM
armsys armsys is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 12-19-2007
Posts: 647
ashwken,

Again thanks for your help. Nowadays living in convoluted civilizations and changing values we just don't kwow how some hackers (they call themselves social engineers) out there take advantage of the data we provide in good will. For details, read http://www.amazon.com/Art-Deception-...155398&sr=8-1.

As a matter of fact, from your screen shots I learn a great deal on how UR is used on a daily basis. In fact, it was deeply amazed by how much UR can do and will do. It's my first time I glimpse an end-user's urd.

I wish other senior UR users could be very kind enough to share their live urds (structure only without data please) so that we can quicken our UR learning curve.

Thanks. And happy new year.

Armstrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.