View Single Post
  #20  
Old 12-03-2012, 11:21 AM
PureMoxie PureMoxie is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-21-2004
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanferns View Post
PureMoxie, not quite. UR doesn't recognize that files have been moved but rather considers the file to have been deleted and recreated elsewhere. You can see this by adding Item Notes to a linked file. On moving the file to another subdirectory the notes are lost. So then UR just functions pretty much like an explorer window with file searching capability. On the other hand, if the file is not going to be moved then linking it elsewhere in the outline become very useful.
Thanks for the clarification. I rarely move or rename my files, so linking in UR works well for me. It's good to know all the caveats, though.

It would be interesting to see if having two synchronized folders in UR would allow moving a file item from one to another - within UR - while maintaining the UR record and also moving the file on disk.
Reply With Quote