Kinook Software Forum

Kinook Software Forum (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [VBP] General Discussion (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   LASTSTEP_OUTPUT -limited number of chars? (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=3660)

teognost 06-11-2008 12:39 PM

LASTSTEP_OUTPUT -limited number of chars?
 
I have some steps for C# solution compilation.
I am capturing the result of these steps using LASTSTEP_OUTPUT macro and writing it into a log file:

Const ForAppending = 8
Dim file
Set file=vbld_FSO().OpenTextFile(strCurrProjLogFullPat h,ForAppending,TRUE)
file.Write(vbCrLf&"*****************************"&vbCrLf)
file.Write(Application.ExpandMacrosAndScript("%LASTSTEP_OUTPUT%"))
file.Close

However-I noticed some solutions are producing a bigger output and in the log file i do not see all the output,it is truncated.
So should I assume LASTSTEP_OUTPUT is limited as number of chars?
In such a case-how can I capture completely the result of these steps ?

teognost 06-11-2008 12:40 PM

Forgot to mention-the code is implemented in
Sub vbld_StepDone()
for the compilation steps.

kinook 06-11-2008 02:24 PM

The maximum length of the LASTSTEP_OUTPUT macro is determined by the MaxStepOutputLength option (default is 1024 x 1024 chars, a value 0 will not limit the length).

Use a Run Script step like

Application.Options.MaxStepOutputLength = 0

to change this setting.

http://www.visualbuild.com/Manual/ma...thproperty.htm

teognost 06-12-2008 04:21 AM

tks for info.
I should do this
Application.Options.MaxStepOutputLength = 0
as first step in VBP and it will be valid for all the other projects?
Or it is valid only for current project,for all the other VBP projects I need to create a similar step?

kinook 06-12-2008 06:33 AM

The change will be in effect for all projects until changed to another value.

teognost 06-12-2008 11:31 AM

this setting affects %FAILSTEP_OUTPUT% as well?

kinook 06-12-2008 11:33 AM

Yes.

teognost 06-13-2008 07:40 AM

strange,I have set Application.Options.MaxStepOutputLength = 0 at the beginning of VBP project.
However when checking the log for compilation steps is still truncated.
I guess something is changing the value back to default,I will try to move the step 'Application.Options.MaxStepOutputLength = 0'
near compilation steps.

kinook 06-13-2008 07:55 AM

Actually, that setting is read into a variable at the start of the build. Just manually rebuild the Run Script step that sets that option, and then all subsequent builds will use the new setting.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.